We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to San Diego”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #74 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The motel is nice. The rooms are clean and the bed is the best of the best. I really enjoyed everything but look out when it comes to eating. The food is no where close to being a good deal for what you pay. They should at least offer a continental breakfast! Don't think I am petty but they even charge 15 dollars for the laundry bag!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed on the 6th floor, just below the roof deck. There was noise in the evening --bad, but not unbearable. I should have asked to move them, but I figured, how much worse can it get?

Then at 5:30 am I was awakened by a thunderstorm. Oh, wait, it wasn't a thunderstorm -- it was the staff setting up breakfast on the roof, apparently with a cash bonus for whoever could make the most noise. I'm no stranger to this kind of thing -- I live in an apt beneath the least considerate person in the world; this woman apparently wakes up and puts on her high heels before her deodorant -- but believe me this was LOUD. They are literally demolishing a building across the street from the Andaz and it made less noise.

This may seem like a small and very individual complaint, but this being a HOTEL, you'd expect them to consider the effect of setup noise on guests. This must happen every time there is an event. How could the staff miss such a major detail? (Yes I called to tell the front desk, and no, it didn't get any quieter.)

My advice: Avoid the 6th floor... or just avoid the whole hotel. It's not like there's any shortage of nice places to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autonerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Let me start by saying this is for the urban, metro style person, I was in a boys trip celebrating a friend's 40th.
The crowd is very sophisticated.
Great rooms, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They smile all the time and they rush to offer assistance.
Great roof pool during the day to relax and at night to party.
The hotel have 3 DJs with different music styles, if you want to party in your hotel this is the place to be. A lot of good looking upscale people.
The location is gold, in midst of what the action is in San Diego if you want to go out and hit the clubs and restaurants

Room Tip: Ask for the king size suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haffeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

After an exemplary stay at the Andaz Liverpool Street, expectations were running high. An attractive Sunday evening rate finally fell below my company threshold, so I seized the opportunity. While this hotel is one step below the Andaz Liverpool, this hotel would still rank in my top 15%.

The Andaz brand has mastered the first impression. Entering the hotel is truly transformational. It’s the informal nature of associates waiting in hand with iPads. It’s a lobby design which invites people to relax and pass the time. It’s the associate bringing a cold beverage before commencing the check-in process. Finally, it’s the associate walking guests to the elevator. This is the way every hotel stay should begin, and the definition of exceptional service. If the other 22 hours of my stay were as impeccable, then this would be my number one hotel.

The room layout is an open format. The operative word is open, as the glass shower is in the middle of the room. In essence, there is no privacy on the shower. The only secluded area is the water closet. Layout aside, the shower is glass and tiled – very elegant. Robes were also available. The towels were sizeable but not particularly soft. I also noticed three long hairs on the shower base – an unappealing surprise at a top-notch hotel. The bedroom area featured a king-sized bed, desk, and flat screen TV. The furnishings were contemporary. Case in point, the wood headboard extends over the bed and exudes class. There is also a refrigerator and mini-refreshment area. The hotel offers complimentary light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages – a concierge lounge experience without having to leave the room.

Outside the room, the rooftop is the hub of the hotel’s recreation. The fitness center, pool, nightclub, and restaurant are all located on the top floor. The fitness center is open 24 hours. The equipment included three treadmills, two elliptical machines, one bicycle, and several weight-lifting pieces. The treadmills had built-in TVs.

My only in-hotel meal was breakfast on Monday morning. This was the low point of my stay. I arrived shortly after 6:30, and there was one other person there. The two associates were cleaning the bar and not particularly interested in serving breakfast. I had to call the server’s attention to place the order and pay the check. The food was lukewarm. I would have requested them to wave the charge if the breakfast was not included in my rate. Suffice to say, you get what you pay for.

The breakfast was not my only qualm. First, there were two dirty glasses outside the room when I arrived. These made me pause for a moment, and I tentatively opened the door thinking the room may have been occupied. Second, the aforementioned hairs raised concerns about attention to detail. Finally, I heard that the lively nightclub causes noise to reverberate on weekends. Fortunately, my stay was on a Sunday night. Unfortunately, the ambitious and early-rising street cleaning crew woke me up at 4am.

In summary, this hotel has the potential to be exceptional. But like many hotels, inconsistent service and lack of attention to detail often lead to their demise. The Andaz falls squarely into this category – a very good hotel that could be great.

Pros: Vibrant, inviting lobby; open room layout with contemporary furnishings

Cons: Inconsistent service, lack of attention to detail

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Came here from the frigid East coast to celebrate my birthday.. Amazing hotel nestled in the Gas Lamp District with an awesome view of Petco Park, the convention center and Coronado Bridge. Service was top notch with very friendly people. Decor was very contemporary and modern. What blew me away was the beautiful room with the open glass shower/jacuzzi style tub. The hotel on Friday and Saturday is a hot spot. The rooftop bar named the IVY was great.. Lots of good looking people to mingle with but what really blew me away was the nightclub in the basement.. Holy Crap!! Stepped into another world.. "OFF THE HOOK".. Could have danced the night away.. I would stay here again.. and I recommend you give this hotel a try.. It's worth it..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beenie-mac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night and used all my Hyatt Gold Passport Points and it was TOTALLY worth it!! A big shout out to Ari from the front desk who really turned our vacation karma around. We were having a rough start to our vacation and she totally changed all that. We got to stay in the Andaz - Large King Room and it was AMAZING!! The access to the IVY nightclub on the roof and basement and wine bar was so much fun. The valet folks were courteous and the elevator staff was professional. Everyone was on-point, all the time, regardless of what time of day it was. We only stayed here one night but it was very memorable. Think Vegas style experience but in San Diego. Our next night we were off to La Jolla for a more quiet romantic night and later a surprise engagment! I'll never forget this amazing weekend in San Diego. Thank you Andaz San Diego staff for starting our engagemnt weekend off right!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Laura B,

Congratulations on your engagement! I am thrilled that our team at Andaz San Diego was able to contribute to creating an amazing memory. Our nightclub, wine lounge, and rooftop bar are fantastic options to enjoy San Diego’s nightlife and I am happy that you had a chance to experience them before continuing your vacation to La Jolla. I hope that we get the opportunity to invite you back to enjoy our nightclub and room accommodations for many more special occasions to come!

All my best,
Rusty Middleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet when I stayed here for two reasons: 1) it was a Sunday and a Monday night, and 2) it was quite cold by San Diego standards.

Reception was efficient and professional. The view from the roof was very nice.

I liked the bags of self-service ice. Most ice-machines I encounter are noisy and hard to use.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,061 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#51 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#47 of 278 in San Diego
2,484 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $170 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing