We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #67 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Great welcome from Nicole when we arrived, she couldn't have been more helpful. Room was lovely. Great location in the gaslamp quater, very central for everything. All staff we dealt with were extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel for service, cleanliness & comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Hoderc,

Thank you for the nice recommendation of Andaz San Diego! I am pleased that you enjoyed the property and will be sure to pass your kind words on to Nicole. I hope to welcome you back to the next time that you are in the area.

Best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    376
    157
    78
    51
See reviews for
84
528
71
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed there for Friday night with two children. The noise was loud and, like other reviewers have mentioned, it's probably bad in all rooms as our high-floor internal room got a lot of noise too, mostly from the roof top party. Fortunately the kids were too tired to be bothered. We also run into quite a few people in the lobby that dressed for night club.

Apparently I made a bad choice in picking the hotel for the family stay, but I can't fault the hotel for that. The hotel is overall great and deserves a 4 star -- it's clean, has great service, good breakfast, and great location. The roof-top and pool are really nice although we didn't get to use the pool. We did use and appreciate the free escalade car service, which can take you to anywhere in 2 mile radius.

I would recommend it to anybody who is not traveling with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let me say first that I love Andaz hotels. But someone, somewhere made the unfathomably stupid decision to put a nightclub in this property. I had a terrific two nights on Tuesday and Wednesday, and got back to my room on Thursday night to find my room pulsing with bass from the club downstairs. Apparently the whole hotel is affected -- on the upper floors you get noise from the DJ at the rooftop bar, on the opposite side of the hotel you get street noise from people waiting to get into the club. I have absolutely no idea what they are thinking here -- they are damaging their brand. If this had been the first Andaz I'd stayed at, it would've been my last.

Hotel staff was very helpful in transferring me over to the Grand Hyatt a mile away. Not as nice, but at least not fatally flawed. Surreal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank paleshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unlike my stay at the NYC Andaz I was not impressed with this Andaz, very noisy, service was slow - valet parking in particular, the free mini bar that Andaz's boast of was actually more filled with things they want to charge you for as were the snack trays ($5 for a pack of .79 Oreo cookies??) all in all way too commercial of them I thought. Breakfast was mediocre although the setting was nice on the rooftop. Can't recommend this hotel, alas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gic1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not a terrible place. Good location, decent rooms, cool design. Service is overwhelming to a fault and a bit superficial. The rooftop is awesome, but that comes with a downside.....

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet long weekend in the sun and stayed here Wed-Sun. Starting Thursday night, both the rooftop and downstairs club take over the Andaz. Bouncers man the doors to the hotel and stand in the elevators, while a long line forms on the sidewalk outside and line ropes fill the lobby. Not the most welcoming way to "come home". As the party on the roof escalated around midnight, the bass pounded through the ceiling of our 6th (top) floor room, making it very difficult to sleep. We requested a quieter room the next day and were downgraded from king to queen on a different floor. A HUGE downgrade in size and quality accompanied by no offer to upgrade or comp room/drinks/etc., as might be expected at a hotel focused on delivering an excellent guest experience and high service. And, while somewhat quieter, we could still hear bass late at night during the rest of our stay.

We travel a lot for fun and work, and never complain about slightly disappointing experiences, but felt that this required a review.

Bottom line: if you want a crash pad that is club first, hotel second, the Andaz is for you. If you're looking for a quiet place to sleep with genuinely impeccable service, San Diego has plenty of great alternatives.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everyone was very kind and curteous down to the valet. Our room was incredibly beautiful, spacious, clean, and modern. The turndown service is a very nice touch. On top of all this, within walking distance to the gaslamp. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff is so attentive to me and greets me by name. The rooms are great and the restraunts both in and around the hotel are excellent. Both Kind and double queen size rooms are spacious and all have free WIFI to allow work or pleasure. The in house TV allows for many options from movies to games and everything in between.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#26 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#51 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing