We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a Brit's perspective”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #71 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“From a Brit's perspective”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend on arrival from the UK. Booked the hotel because of the discount on offer, but was concerned we maybe a bit mature for this hotel. We needn't have worried. At first the welcome and level of service seemed effusive, gushing and generally OTT, quickly realised that this because of the standards we have become used to in the UK and that the Andaz standard should be what every 4 & 5 star hotel should aspire to. the room 401 was quirky, a bit low on light, smallish. the double bed was also small, but very comfortable apart from that. With the shower and toilet partially exposed some may find this uncomfortable - but it just adds to the originality of the hotel. Situated near the lifts noise was not an issue, nor was there any noise from guests or clubbers, referred to in other reviews.
The roof terrace was a superb relaxed location for breakfast and would recommend the Eggs Benedict, but the bar areas were soulless when we used them on Sunday night and eye watering lay expensive.
Staff offered to go out and post letters for me and supply stamps FOC, and the valet parking attendant, returned my driving licence and camera to me within minutes of finding it in the well of the car.
Overall excellent value with a a level of service and staff enthusiasm other establishments should aspire to.
Oh, and we didn't feel too old or out of place at 61, were made to feel very welcome, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, making it a memorable start to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Arte1,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the level of service at Andaz San Diego! It is our goal at Andaz to give each of our guests a personal and engaging experience and I am happy that we were able to create that for you during your stay. The rooftop is a great place to relax and have breakfast and our eggs benedict is one of my personal favorites. I’m glad you took the opportunity to experience them both.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I hope we are able to welcome you back to Andaz San Diego the next time you are in the States.

Sincerely,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    430
    176
    97
    66
See reviews for
99
595
79
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there for a week and had a really good experience. Checked in late and got downgraded to a smaller room but got moved the next day to the correct room. For the inconvenience the front desk comped my $35 daily parking for the week. The room was large and very clean and the shower, in the middle of the room, had two glass walls - so ... well you get the idea. Since its in the middle of the Gaslamp quarter, it attracts a younger clientele and the place can take on a club atmosphere but its restricted to the lobby and the rooftop bar/pool. It was never a problem in the hallways like prom night in a sheraton. Staff was pretty cool and was always helpful. The only thing missing was a water view but I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside edge of the building are better than the rooms on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear M Y,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Andaz San Diego! I apologize that your room was not available for you at check-in, but am happy to hear that our staff took care of you and were able to give you complimentary parking for the duration of your stay. It is our goal to give each of our guests a great experience at our hotel and I am happy to hear that they were able to personalize yours.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz San Diego the next time you are in the area.

Best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Andaz this past weekend with a group of eight girls for my sister's bachelorette party. Most of us are in our 30s and wanted something more low-key, so we decided to rent the cabana suite and a couple of other rooms so we could spend Saturday at the rooftop pool. The rooms are luxurious (love the Keurig in each room and the enormous showers/baths), the rooftop pool had a relaxed but trendy vibe with a stunning view, and the location is unbeatable. But the real gem of the Andaz is its staff. From start to finish, my experience with the hotel employees was impeccable. Everyone from Lia Duarte, the amazing (and patient!) reservations coordinator who set us up in the first place, to the front desk-manager and the cocktail server by the pool, were extraordinary. They made us feel like royalty, and handled all of our (many) requests smoothly and hospitably. We also held a low-key bridal shower/brunch for my sister at the rooftop restaurant on Sunday morning, and the food (esp. the chili hash) and attentive service were the finishing touch on a perfect weekend. We put a lot of faith in Andaz for a big event, and are happy to say that every dollar spent there was more than worth it. Thank you to Lia, Phil, Scottie, Doug, and all the other fantastic employees who made a major milestone in my sister's life unforgettable. We will absolutely be back, and will recommend this hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Maryana A.,

Thank you for reaching out to share your experience at Andaz San Diego. I am happy to hear that you and the other guests of your sister’s bachelorette party had a great time with us. The views of the Gaslamp District and Downtown San Diego’s skyline from the rooftop are truly unbeatable. I am glad your party was able to enjoy them while relaxing by the pool.

I am proud to hear that our staff was able assist in making this exciting time in your sister’s life unforgettable. I will be sure to pass on your note to Lia, Phil, Scottie, Doug, and the rest of our staff to be sure that they know that their excellent service did not go unnoticed.

Thank you again.

Warm regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a great destination for the gaslamp visitor who wants to experience downtown San Diego at it's best. The perfect location for a weekend destination to shop, eat, walk, and party! The Ivy, the hotel's rooftop bar, is still a go-to location for the downtown partygoer, and as a guest of the hotel, free VIP wristbands are provided. Full of perks, and in-room freebies, this boutique hotel is surprisingly affordable and sophicasticatedly comfy.

Room Tip: Corner room with city views is the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Andaz is a new brand from Hyatt Hotels, and it reflects their collective expertise in hospitality. The San Diego Andaz used to be the Ivy Hotel, so it is in a building with true architectural history, but that has been sensitively and artfully renovated. It is located in San Diego's very, very busy Gaslamp District, which is close to a sports stadium and the convention center.

Andaz makes effective use of technology and the check in process is smooth and fast; in fact, you can check in ahead of arrival if you want to, and just pick up your room key when you get there. Guests are greeted by hosts with iPads, all of whom were quite gracious, though probably could use a little more training about when to stop talking. (Ours even said, "maybe I'm giving you more information than you want...")

One of the most impressive elements of the decor is a sophisticated incorporation of the arts. Even the area rugs on every floor were custom weaves based on art. There's a captivating modernist mural on the main floor that managed to be edgy and sweet at once.

We booked a suite for $340/night. It had a wholly separate living room and a flatscreen TV in both rooms, which seemed a little like over-kill to us but probably appealing to the sports fans that swarm the Gaslamp District. Andaz offers complimentary soft drinks in the minibar and ice on every floor. The living room furniture was a little bit of a mishmash; it looked as though it started midcentury modern and then they decided they need a more comfortable sofa, too, and added it.

The bathrooms were spacious and attractively designed. They have large walk in showers but no tubs. The amenities were high quality.

The bed was simple and comfortable. The closet was located in the living room rather than the bedroom, which was neither ideal nor an insurmountable problem.

The food service options in-house were limited. There is 24 hour room service and breakfast and lunch on the roof until 2pm. The only dinner option on property is Katsuya, a sushi restaurant designed by Phillippe Stark and owned by SBE, an LA-based company with a distinctly nightlife cant. The space was large yet beautifully designed and the sushi was excellent, but this isn't a place for a quiet dinner after a long flight.

There is also a nightclub on premises and it is LOUD. There is heavy security on Friday and Saturday nights because of the club but it did little to control the room pounding noise from loud guests screaming in the halls and elevator and even louder music. In fact, the host even said when we arrived, "we can't promise it will be quiet but let us know if you want to change rooms." Sleeping was not easy.

The Andaz San Diego on the weekends is probably most perfect for 20- and 30-somethings who are using they rooms as luggage storage while they party all night or hook up destinations. We liked it a lot but regretted how little sleep we got.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the elevators as you can on weekends because the sounds of revelers travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Andaz, San Diego for 2 nights in August and in general had a good experience and would recommend

Positives

Free soft drinks and snacks which were replaced each day. This made such a difference to our stay as it can be a real pain to have to pay $5 or so that some hotels charge for a small bottle of water or have to go to the shops to buy large bottles to bring back to the hotel. This was great when sight seeing as we had soft drinks and snacks to hand!

The quality of the rooms and hotel was great and really modern. The roof garden was really nice and had lots of sun beds and day beds to relax on.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and check in was seamless

Negatives

One big negative for us was that we returned to our room after a day out and our room door had been left wide open by the housekeeping staff!!! Luckily our room was right at the end of the corridor but it was still a bit of a worry. We called housekeeping and the housekeeping manager called us back and profusely apologied.

Another point the hotel needs to work at is sorting out the fact that when in the shower the water ends up getting out through the glass shower divider. A lot of water ends up on the floor each time and we had to use so many towels to wipe it up each time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faylouise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My stay at Andaz San Diego was one of the best experiences ive had with any hotel. As a diamond member they really went above and beyond to accomodate and make my stay memorable. Particularly Dyson L and Jonathon W really showcased true customer service and made me want to come back to this hotel again and again. i give this hotel and their employees two thumbs up!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have a great view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Nikki C,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Andaz San Diego! It is our goal to give each of our guests a personal and fun experience and I am thrilled that we were able to make yours memorable. I will share your note with Dyson and Jonathan and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and again.

Warm regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
985 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing