We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes you feel like a VIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like a VIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I've stayed at several hotels in San Diego, and this place ranks among the best. Free drinks at check-in, complimentary snacks, sodas, and juice in mini bar, newspaper at your door upon request, and the hotel / room has a fresh smell to it. The rooftop pool, bar, and lounge area offers great views and a giant fire pit. The fitness center's exercise machines have individual LCD screens making working outs a breeze to endure. Finally, to emphasize how great the service was -- an employee knocked on my door after I ignored the morning calls.

Room Tip: "internal rooms" may be quieter, as there are trains in downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOHKG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    405
    173
    87
    63
See reviews for
94
562
75
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

If I could, I would write two wholly different reviews for this hotel. I stayed here from Wednesday through Saturday to attend a conference. I would give it at least a 4-star rating from Sundays to Wednesdays, but no more than a 1-star rating between Thursdays and Saturdays. Since I can't give it two scores at once, I'm settling for a low average of the two.

On Wednesday, this place was heaven. The staff was hospitable; the food was good; there were beautiful design touches all around; the complimentary beverages and snacks were plentiful, including a Keurig brewer with a boxful of coffee and tea packs. I was enjoying the hotel so much that I skipped the conference on the first day to go swimming in the rooftop pool. Then I ordered room service, docked my iPhone docked in their speakers and got some work done in a bathrobe listening to Coltrane.

When I came back to the hotel with friends after dinner on Thursday, the whole hotel turned into an extension of their night club. We had to get past a muscly man in a black suit just to get in the lobby, and another one to get in the elevator to go up to our room. Then the dance music started and we thought we were going to lose our minds. The walls and floors were shaking from the bass beats. Music, conversations, and cigarette smoke just came pumping into our room like there were no barriers. It kept going until 2 a.m. when the club shut down. This repeated again on Friday night. By the time we checked out on Saturday, my head was throbbing.

If I could be guaranteed that their Ivy night club would not be in operation, I'd consider staying here again. In the absence of this assurance, there's no way I would return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors might be quieter. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank looseseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very cool hotel, staff were excellent and upgraded us to a loft room as we were on our honeymoon. Great bar on the top floor which is definitely worth a visit. Excellent location in the heart of the gas lamp district.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AashC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

From the moment we walked inside, we felt pampered! Fabulous service, perfect gaslamp location, and beautiful rooftop pool with comfy lounge area and amazing view. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieand4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Excellent hotel.

Everything about it. The staff are very warm and friendly.

I absolutely love the free bottled water, juices, chips, and Toblerone chocolate. In this day and age where it is difficult not to feel nickel and dimed to death with fees, this is a really refreshing change. Free high speed internet, free bottled water, free snacks, free glass of wine in the lobby, and the rates are not out of line with the competition where you will pay a premium for every little thing.

I did not stay on a Friday or Saturday evening however there were occasional events on the rooftop during my stay and I was on the top floor - never heard a sound. The rooftop is a beautiful space to go for lunch by the rooftop pool or an evening glass of wine by the fire pit - really nice.

Great location a block from all the restaurants on Fifth Avenue. What is not to like here? I can get very used to the Andaz experience only to find there are no Andaz hotels in many of the cities I visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Contemporary and hip; nicely decorated rooms; by the way this is a Hyatt property. The location is great in the gaslamp district. I did not hear the noise outside which was a nice surprise. The room includes a huge shower (no tub) in a smallish size room but not surprising for the area. Tons of items for sale in the mini fridge, free coffee, tea and water included. Check-in done quickly on an I-Pad (of course); no complaints they were really nice. One small hiccup I asked for a place for dinner, "not too fancy" I was sent to a local seafood restaurant that was $20+ per entree, not my idea of "not fancy". Valet is also extremely expensive even for this area but you are really limited with the parking for this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclingsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

From the bar to the restaurant to the elevator and especially the room this hotel is top tier all the way. Our room was on the smaller side but gorgeous. Have every intention of staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenamechlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing