We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in Italy.. in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #107 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I wanted something unique for a Romantic weekend in San Diego, so I chose this over the big cookie-cutter chain hotels. If you appreciate modern design, you will love this hotel. The materials, electronics, lighting and bath fixtures are all top of the line. The shower, in particular, is a work of art. It's a large glass box that's open to the room with both a waterfall shower on the ceiling and a hand shower on the wall. Another favorite feature was the in-room cappuccino machine. And the lighting controls are the best of any hotel I have stayed in. The beds and linens are extraordinarily comfortable, and the pull-out wardrobes are both unique and easy to use.

The biggest downside to staying here is the noise. If you don't plan to stay up late on weekends, don't stay here. The hotel is located in the busiest part of the gaslamp district, and there are loads of bars and restaurants nearby. For us, a young couple staying for the weekend to visit friends, this was an asset. For older people, this would likely not be the case. I would not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2007

Staying at The Keating is like dragging your bed to a fancy club. Sure, it looks amazing and can be fun, but the looks only go so far when it's too loud and the atmosphere sucks. The Keating is minimalist to the extreme. I'm the type of person that loves everything modern; stainless anything and everything is my style, but when paying $300+ a night I at least expect a separate bathroom, a shower with doors, perhaps a bath tub, carpeting (not painted cement floors!), and at the very least more than single-pane windows (ESPECIALLY when you are in the middle of the nightclub district). This is the first and only hotel that I will say I spent more hours lying awake than I did sleeping. I went to bed at 11pm, but due to the constant and extremely loud (so loud you can hardly hear your own thoughts) noise outside from cars, drunk people and the band that was playing directly four floors below our room. Finally I believe I fell asleep sometime around midnight. I was then woke up at 2 am to the sounds of people screaming in horror "STOP... DON'T DO IT!" I ran to the window to see two girls punching each other and chasing each other around with a crowd of at least 50 people watching and cheering. Keep in mind this isn't happening way down the street, it is DIRECTLY outside our window. After almost 10 minutes the police finally arrive, at this point the girls have chased each other into the streets and almost caused multiple accidents. Then an ambulance arrives and takes one girl away. I'm not sure whether the girl was that badly hurt from the fight, got hit by a car, or what. And, this wasn't just a rare occurence. The hotel staff informed us that just the night before there was another fight directly outside the hotel with two girls beating each other with high heels. After all this excitement I finally got back to sleep at about 3:30am. I woke up at 8am to the sounds of cars outside and soon after that housekeeping was sure to come by. At check-out the hotel then tried to charge me for use of some lounge, which I had never even heard of let alone spent money at. After some griping they removed the $100 charge. And, I should also mention NOT to use a credit card if you dare choose to stay at the hotel. Apparently they have some issues with their credit card machine because I used my credit card to check-in and everything seemed to be fine at first until they called the room at 11pm (and got me out of bed) to come downstairs to give them another form of payment because it would not work. I know for a fact that it was not an issue with my card because I called my credit card company and they had no problems, and furthermore I used that same credit card three times the next day without any problems. I DO NOT recommend The Keating. There are so many other nice hotels to stay at. I had stayed at the Holiday Inn on the Bay the night before and it was a MUCH better hotel even if it wasn't as "hip and modern" as this one; at least the Holiday Inn knows not to have single-pane windows.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank writer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ver0vb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ne pas etre pres du bar, on y entend la musique de la chambre. Par contre, je ne peux pas dire que c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacinthedurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Noeselqueeselcomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daniele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#71 of 286 in San Diego
1,651 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing