We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$301
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$154
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$163
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$1,134
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$238
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$1,128
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$559
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
360
189
93
92
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
189
93
92
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsespresso machinegaslamp districtstreet noiseboutique hotelgas lampbars and restaurantsthe location is perfectenjoyed my staypetco parkshowerloftsd
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 824 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2017 via mobile

When I booked the Keating, we were coming into SD for the night to see a show. It's conveniently located in the Gaslamp, and walking distance to everything we would be doing. At the airport today I received a phone call asking if "it would be ok if the hotel upgraded our reservation" from the Chic Loft to the imperial suite. They had me at upgrade! The staff is SO friendly and helpful (literally RUNNING to help when our key didn't work) and fun! There was a handwritten note waiting for us! The jacuzzi tub is more flash than function, but still cool. Comfortable bed, great bedding, and a very cool layout. I will ONLY stay here going forward! Bravo!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Llashem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Hello Mrs. LaShomb,

We are so very happy to hear during your recent one night stay with us that we have provided a great experience. We were so happy to be able to upgrade you all and are pleased knowing how much you enjoyed it. The personal touch is something we harp on here at the Keating, from the welcome letter to the quick response time to assist guests. It brings us great pride knowing that we can look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Thanks for you thoughts and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed in the largest suite the Hotel has available for my 50th Birthday and it was GORGEOUS!! I've never stayed in a more beautiful and chic room before. We had a cocktail party with 20+ people in the suite and we all fit with room to spare. The room was clean, neat and very nicely decorated. The water was warm. The only negatives were the drains drained slowly in each of the sinks and because of the location of the hotel in the Gaslamp, there is street noise until the wee hours of the morning. If I had to do it all over again however, I'd stay in the same exact room. The service was 10+ for sure so it was worth any noise we dealt with.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Hey Darren,

Let me say that these are the sort of reviews that make our day! We are glad you were able to celebrate your birthday here with us. The MaCallan is definitely a show stopper and a suite built to entertain and it seems you all did just that. The building is 127 years old, with that comes older drainage systems and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are working to resolve the issue currently but thank you for bringing it to our attention. As for the street noise, we appreciate that you understand while in the Gaslamp it will be prevalent. Next time you're with us ask for a set of earplugs to get you peacefully through the night. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

Room was fine but the espresso machine kept making noises in the middle of the night and made a mess when I tried to use it. Just put a simple coffee machine in the room- most people just want coffee not espresso

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DCDIMARCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Hello DCDIMARCO,

We appreciate you staying with us during your recent trip to San Diego. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room. The Lavazza machines keep an internal temperature set which is probably what you heard during the night. We are sorry it caused you some difficulty during your time here, and will look into your suggestion of providing a simpler machine moving forward. Thank you for your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017

We stayed at the Keating in November for the 3-Day Walk and on the first night we were kept awake most of the night by a band/DJ nearby. When we talked to the front desk the next morning they moved us to a different location that was much quieter. The front desk staff were excellent and super friendly. The handled our request to move professionally and politely. They didn't have to accommodate our request since the noise was not any fault of theirs. But they did and we were very appreciative of it. The rooms are very trendy but one piece of advice...the floors are concrete so if you don't like cold floors bring some slippers. The hotel is located right in the Gaslamp District and is steps away from excellent restaurants. I personally recommend El Chingon, the food is great and the Madero was the best margarita we had all weekend. This is a great hotel in a beautiful city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Risto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hey Risto40,

First and foremost thank you for choosing to make the Keating Hotel your home during your time here in San Diego. We applaud your efforts to help bring awareness to breast cancer. As you are now aware, the Gaslmap Quarter can become quite lively at times and it is difficult to control the outside noise. With that being said we are so happy to hear that our team was able to help remedy the issue and find you a room in which you were able to enjoy. And that is a great suggestion, we are always looking for new ways to enhance our guests experience. We hope to see you all here again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

The only bad thing is that the sinks are located too far back. But the shower is great! Perfect location. Cafe 21 next door is great for breakfast, especially the mimosa tower. Parking is convenient but expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B1315OLpaulinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hello B1315OLpaulinec,

We are sorry to hear that the design of our hotel room was not ideal but are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the shower and Cafe 21. Mimosa's are a great way to start a vacation morning! As for the parking, we do our best to keep up with the industry standard while still offering a lower rate than most properties within the Gaslamp. Next time you're in town please inquire about other parking options as we would be glad to direct you to one of the many other lots located downtown. Thank you for thoughts, we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews