We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Luxurious Hotel Perfect for Poets, Artists, and Dreamers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #115 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I travel a lot, booked my Hotel through Jet Blue and my room was a dream come true, fully stocked with wine, champagne, mini-bar, snacks, bottles of water, AND a Lavazza expresso machine. SEXY SHOWER!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 776 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing beds, and amazing location however don't plan on enjoying either as you are so tired from the constant construction, bar noise, garbage trucks and street cleaners, even an afternoon nap is virtually impossible! Apparently there was a continental breakfast included which i didn't know about and bring your own toiletries as the ones provided are not good, if you are particular.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The linens were lovely but the street noise was unbearable. The decor is very industrial and unusual. You really need to like concrete. And red. It was just way too noisy. We cut our stay short and moved hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The room has a doorbell - and odd people ringing it and visiting at random (a woman to tell us about the hi-tech stuff - which she didn't know about, another woman with a big of flip-flops and a man in a chef outfit bringing us unrequested coffee and Nutella (why?), a mirror over the shower (which turns on at random), lots of sex stuff and an extremely overpriced virtual mini-7Eleven. Beware! The incredibly overpriced Wine is NOT complimentary! Take a survival kit: flashlight (to find your way to the bed in the dark), bed lamps for reading (lights are in the very high ceiling only and turn off over by the door), hand towels, and hand soap (there are none); a makeup light (can't get within a foot of the mirror), and earplugs (the Blues bar below begins its ear piercing wailing at 9pm and doesn't stop until 2:30am). The breakfast room area with ATM, piano and mini-workout room was interesting - but also strange. How can they not notice that there is a toaster but no bread and packaged oatmeal but no microwave? The pastry and coffee were tasty, however. It was also strange to leave the car with a valet who whisked it away to parts unknown where we would not be able to retrieve any forgotten item. Other than that - and the shredding bath towels, it was a good location for walking around a bustling and charming area of San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms 2B, 3B and 4B are probably the closest to the noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SezLuckyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Not worth the $ or the hype. It was the noisiest room we've ever stayed in (even compared to maradi gras in the French quarter)! There was no information about breakfast or the free bike usage available. Don't try to check in early - we had to wait til the 4:00 check-in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra V, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize about noise, we are located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and we understand that it could be noisy at times. We are in the process of installing new windows at the hotel. The sample room has been completed and the rooms will be noise free by the summer. We pride ourself in providing personalized check in and excellent customer service. I will personally address you comments with my staff. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

old hotel recycled with modern (automobilistic design)
The oldes elevetor in San Diego looks like new and perform like old
The coffe machine at room doesnt work and we can hear a lot of noise
Cindy (front desk) fix it all
Except that we dont have hand towels and somethig loose white chips everywhere

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My full experience was a memorable stay. From the time of check in, till check out was awesome. Staff is great, friendly and comforting. Definitely be back. The Keating is a great place in a great location. Walking distance from the malls, food places, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,063 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#73 of 278 in San Diego
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $143 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing