We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveler rating
363
190
95
92
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
190
95
92
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews espresso machine gaslamp district street noise boutique hotel gas lamp bars and restaurants the location is perfect enjoyed my stay petco park shower loft sd
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 834 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The linens were lovely but the street noise was unbearable. The decor is very industrial and unusual. You really need to like concrete. And red. It was just way too noisy. We cut our stay short and moved hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The room has a doorbell - and odd people ringing it and visiting at random (a woman to tell us about the hi-tech stuff - which she didn't know about, another woman with a big of flip-flops and a man in a chef outfit bringing us unrequested coffee and Nutella (why?), a mirror over the shower (which turns on at random), lots of sex stuff and an extremely overpriced virtual mini-7Eleven. Beware! The incredibly overpriced Wine is NOT complimentary! Take a survival kit: flashlight (to find your way to the bed in the dark), bed lamps for reading (lights are in the very high ceiling only and turn off over by the door), hand towels, and hand soap (there are none); a makeup light (can't get within a foot of the mirror), and earplugs (the Blues bar below begins its ear piercing wailing at 9pm and doesn't stop until 2:30am). The breakfast room area with ATM, piano and mini-workout room was interesting - but also strange. How can they not notice that there is a toaster but no bread and packaged oatmeal but no microwave? The pastry and coffee were tasty, however. It was also strange to leave the car with a valet who whisked it away to parts unknown where we would not be able to retrieve any forgotten item. Other than that - and the shredding bath towels, it was a good location for walking around a bustling and charming area of San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms 2B, 3B and 4B are probably the closest to the noisy bar.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SezLuckyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Not worth the $ or the hype. It was the noisiest room we've ever stayed in (even compared to maradi gras in the French quarter)! There was no information about breakfast or the free bike usage available. Don't try to check in early - we had to wait til the 4:00 check-in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra V, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize about noise, we are located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and we understand that it could be noisy at times. We are in the process of installing new windows at the hotel. The sample room has been completed and the rooms will be noise free by the summer. We pride ourself in providing personalized check in and excellent customer service. I will personally address you comments with my staff. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

old hotel recycled with modern (automobilistic design)
The oldes elevetor in San Diego looks like new and perform like old
The coffe machine at room doesnt work and we can hear a lot of noise
Cindy (front desk) fix it all
Except that we dont have hand towels and somethig loose white chips everywhere

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My full experience was a memorable stay. From the time of check in, till check out was awesome. Staff is great, friendly and comforting. Definitely be back. The Keating is a great place in a great location. Walking distance from the malls, food places, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews