We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveler rating
361
190
94
92
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
190
94
92
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsespresso machinegaslamp districtstreet noiseboutique hotelgas lampbars and restaurantsthe location is perfectenjoyed my staypetco parkshowerloftsd
Filter
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 827 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

front desk staff, rude and arrogant, as was management. Customer service is something they need work on. Check your sheets, they are likely stained! Ask the roaches, they will tell you about the stains. Hope that you are sick during your stay because the mildew stain, is terrible. Oh and dont take the elevator, you get charged a fee for doing so! Those that still decide to book enjoy your stay in your bathroom with a bed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank omarucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrooks227, Guest Relations Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Umailop-

I'm sorry to hear that your experience at The Keating was not top-notch. I am concerned about the conditions of your room upon check-in. We strive for cleanliness and do thorough inspections before checking any of our guests in. I was also a bit confused about the elevator charges. The only other charges we have is our preservation fee of $3 a night, which is just because we are a historical location. I'm sorry if there was any confusion on this matter. Your concerns are very important and I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Sincerely,
Christos Brooks
Director of Standards and Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel is in the Gaslamp distrit. If you want to find nice restaurants, bars and clubs this is the perfect place! The room is big, with a very confortable bed. You have a coffee machine to use free of charge. The staff is very nice and helpful. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anamgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Keating is the perfect combination of location, location, location (in the heart of the Gas Lamp District) and quiet retreat. It manages to make you feel like you are in a contemporary loft away from it all when you are in your room...yet you are in the center of everything. We walked everywhere and were just a few minutes from the zoo. The rooms are clean and sleek and even have a fabulous espresso machine free of charge. The beds are really comfortable. The amenties are well thought out and every detail makes you feel so cared for. The staff is polite and pleasant. All the hip-ness of of an Ian Schrager hotel, without the attitude. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BovaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Keating because of a Travel Zoo coupon that we purchased for $239. which included a 2 night stay and one dinner. We were told that this represented a $500. plus value. The first disappointment when we arrived was being told by Valet staff that parking would cost $32. per night. This was not printed on the coupon nor at the website, so having arrived late in the evening and being unfamiliar with the local parking garages, we opted to use the valet service. We were shown to a very small room on the 4th floor. We knew that the decor had a unique, urban style, but we were disappointed that there was no table or chairs in the room, apart from the bed, wall desk, and desk chair under the windows. Mostly, we were unprepared for the constant noise which we heard from the bars and clubs surrounding the hotel. This went on until 2 AM., followed by construction sounds, busses, garbage trucks, and raucous street people below our windows, which were closed. Needless to say, we did not get any sleep. We requested a room change in the morning but were told that the only room left was the penthouse (at a $30) surcharge directly above our room. We declined and checked out and relocated to the delightful Bay Club and Marina on Shelter Island. Check out my review for same, which will be much more laudatory than this one! In the future, we will check out the Travel Zoo "deals" more carefully before we commit. I should mention that the staff at the Keating delivered "service with a smile" and was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Inside room might be quieter but I recommend you skip this hotel if you are looking for a quiet night's sleep.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 2Profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is in a superb location, with the Gaslamp District literally outside your door. It's steps away from a multitude of choices in fine dining, clubs, bars, coffee houses, ice cream shops and so forth.

Our room had concrete floors, which we liked just fine. The shower is frosted glass, with no door and in the corner of the room. If you're shy, this might not be your first choice. The room comes stocked with a high end CD player, an iPod player, a flat screen TV and so forth, none of which we used.

It also has a simple to use espresso maker. Loved that feature and used it daily.

The staff is fabulous. They're happy and caring.

We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We opted for a room off the street, assuming it would be quieter. It seemed to work out fine. One tip: some of the rooms are sectioned off from the main floor by a separate (key lock) door. For example our room was in a small hallway off the main hallway which we shared with one other room. It added a feeling of security and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews