We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #107 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 20, 2011

First of all, I was impressed before arriving by both their website and by the pre-arrival message I got. They have lifestyle concierges that help arrange anything you like. I'm fact, they arranged an amazing birthday dinner experience for my girlfriend at Cafe Sevilla. The room was phenomenal. High ceilings, modern decor but with the infusion of classic elements like brick, and natural elements like a rock garden with live cactus. The rain shower with no doors was very cool. Hip music playing when you arrive. The chais lounge and other seating by the windows made it easy to people watch 5th street. And they have a chic lounge and restaurant too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back. We literally didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband Jason & I were greeted with a abundance of greetings and they made us feel like Royalty. They made us feel like family and that we were the only two people that mattered. We have tattoos and usually dont get the best of service do to stereotypeing from most hotels since we have been on our trip this place stands out above the rest, in all fashions . From the service to the fashion decor to the beautiful women who even carried our lugggage for us. Thankyou very much we will be back. ps my husband said to say except the big charges for the juice but that was offly worth it...

Room Tip: Penthouse suites we were in PHb that is awesome, showers are to die for I never wanted to get out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheyenne333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I booked our trip on a whim to San Diego through or favorite website luxurylink.com to stay at The Keating for a total of 3 nights. After we booked the hotel, we decided to read previous reviews and at that point, had we booked through a site we were not totally familiar and comfortable with and trusted completely, we may have changed our reservations to another hotel. We kept reading crazy stories that were a bit discerning.

In short, we are SO HAPPY we went with our gut instincts to stick with our reservation at The Keating! Our personal experience could not have been better! We had an absolute blast and will definitely stay there again and again!

We were greeted with exceptionally warm smiles by the front desk staff and we quickly became friends with all personnel. From Teresa, who made sure our room request was fulfilled to perfection, to Trisha who gave us a personal tour of our room and all its amenities, brought up a bottle of Merlot and and cheese platter upon our arrival, brought pizza to our room one night at 11PM we had a bit too much fun at the little local pub Patricks next door, to recommending the most fabulous hidden secret wine bar, Vin de Syrah (An Alice in Wonderland themed must see!), to the rest of the wonderful staff who brought us delicious breakfast in bed every morning, and yummy treats every evening at turndown..... This is our way of thanking you so very much for your hospitality and taking such wonderful care of us!

Having said that, it does pay off to do a little research about this hotel to maximize your stay because it is not for everyone. For starters, look at the photos of the swanky, ultra modern decor. A picture says a thousand words and the hotel rooms look exactly like the pictures. If the decor isn't for you, don't stay there.

Secondly, it is located in one of the oldest buildings in the heart of the Gas Lamp District. It is an official historic building and the windows are single-pane. If you are not familiar with the Gas Lamp District, please note it is a very hip, bustling district with shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs holding different events virtually every night. Because the windows in The Keating are single-pane, if you are sensitive to noise, do yourself a favor and request a room on the penthouse floor. (We did this and had no troubles whatsoever with the street/bar/nightclub noise.)

Last but not least, notice in hotel room photos that the shower is an open shower, not completely open, but its not for the modest of people. If you don't want anyone looking at you (spouse, significant other, partner, child/children, friends, etc.) don't book your reservation at The Keating. (My husband and I are comfortable with the exposure - and if you are too, then you should definitely book at The Keating! We loved the rain shower head on the ceiling as well as the hand-held head too!)

The Keating building, in its over 100 year history of existence, was home to the original Birdcage, and was at one time, a bank, too. Now, as the first hotel venture of Pininfarina, the makers of Ferrari and Maserati, it boasts 35 rooms, 2 fabulous restaurants and Sway, their official nightclub/Lounge. Definitely check out Sway if you can, it has the original vault used by the previous bank and is a fun historical perk. Another historical fun fact is the elevator in the hotel is the first of it's kind in San Diego, is "green" and runs on steam.

The Keating was truly a memorable experience, we loved everything about it. The location can't be beat, you can walk to the ocean, the ball park, the Balboa outdoor mall, etc. You are a 5-10 min cab ride from the airport, from Sea World and the San Diego Zoo.

There are so many bars and restaurants to choose from! We loved Bandar, a Persian restaurant around the corner from The Keating that has won almost every foodie award possible in San Diego! (The lamb filets are to die for and if you like black cherries, their black cherry rice is amazing!) Also, check out Altitude, a roof-top bar at the Marriott near the baseball stadium, (and order their lemon raspberry cocktails -yummy!!!) Go to another roof top bar at the Andar hotel, formally known as The Ivy (their mojitos are fresh and delicious). As crazy as it sounds, stay away from the sushi restaurants. We went to 2 different restaurants and were very disappointed in the freshness and flavor... and the hype surrounding Nobu is a joke. (Their sushi was the most fresh, by far, but we went there our first night and our dinner for 3 people was almost $500 and we left hungry). Patrick's is the local's hangout next door, they have live music every night and is a really fun pub to visit. And last but certainly not least, if you enjoy wine, you can't miss Vin de Syrah (Wednesday nights are 1/2 off bottles).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Penthouse floor. Definitely look for packages on luxury link.com too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tahoegirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Loved the Staff. My dtr especially loved the hotel dog.
Location was great. walking distance to anything. rooms: very modern -- really did not like having my bathroom area (toilet was enclosed) open to the whole room. Really gave you NO privacy for showering. Really only set up for two people per room. We had 2 adults and 2 kids. Kids had to sleep on a blow up bed.
NOISE: location of the hotel is right next to several bars. Thus partying noise till 3 am -- Bars close a 2 yet by the time people get moving down the street ... Stayed two nights - had relatives with us staying in two other rooms. They had band noise for the same time. The only fix was the sound machine they had by the bed. The second night that seems to help sleep though the craziness. Peeked out the window part of the night and saw crazy man half clothed climbing up on the cross the way signs.
Beds were soft --

Room Tip: We had 2f larger room over looks the Tipsy Crow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuySellAZHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed three nights and didn't enjoy much of it. Front desk staff friendly, but absolutely no follow through on requests. We didn't have washcloths two of the days, and after reporting this to the staff were told they would bring them after the laundry service was delivered (we had clean towels; do they send washcloths out separately?). Never happened. Staff very proud of custom coffee machine, but we only had one pod of regular coffee each day, even after we asked for more. Also proud of slippers for cold cement floor in room, but they didn't exist, either! We found out on last morning we should have had order forms for daily complimentary breakfast. Very stressful and disappointing. They really need to get their act together.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed 3 days at the hotel and really enjoyed the hotel! Very friendly staff and cozy rooms. Very quite rooms, clean and great value. Beds are very soft and comfortable! Night time turndowns with homemade treats was a surprise! Free breakfast delivered to the room in the morn. was nice! Showers are very roomy with washcloths! High dollar HDTV and stereo system was rare these days in a hotel. The location is perfect, plenty of places to eat and drink in the Gaslamp district. Close to the airport and warf. All the attractions are walking distance and the hoop on hoop off bus is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxepr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. We were running late (as our dog sitter flaked) and so I called and asked if I could bring the dog for one night, they were so accommodating and said they were dog friendly and it wasn't a problem. In addition they put a little dog bed in our room and left some dog treats. They even called their restaurant to let them know we were running late and to hold our table. The staff was SO nice, especially Parker who wouldn't accept a tip for bringing us breakfast and was so helpful with our dog needs. In addition the location is right in the heart of bars, clubs and restaurants in San Diego. The rooms can get a little loud since you are in the middle of the ruckus but they have very nice furnishing and a very cool, modern look. We had a great time and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 286 in San Diego
1,651 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $137 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing