We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #109 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Loved the Staff. My dtr especially loved the hotel dog.
Location was great. walking distance to anything. rooms: very modern -- really did not like having my bathroom area (toilet was enclosed) open to the whole room. Really gave you NO privacy for showering. Really only set up for two people per room. We had 2 adults and 2 kids. Kids had to sleep on a blow up bed.
NOISE: location of the hotel is right next to several bars. Thus partying noise till 3 am -- Bars close a 2 yet by the time people get moving down the street ... Stayed two nights - had relatives with us staying in two other rooms. They had band noise for the same time. The only fix was the sound machine they had by the bed. The second night that seems to help sleep though the craziness. Peeked out the window part of the night and saw crazy man half clothed climbing up on the cross the way signs.
Beds were soft --

Room Tip: We had 2f larger room over looks the Tipsy Crow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuySellAZHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 798 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed three nights and didn't enjoy much of it. Front desk staff friendly, but absolutely no follow through on requests. We didn't have washcloths two of the days, and after reporting this to the staff were told they would bring them after the laundry service was delivered (we had clean towels; do they send washcloths out separately?). Never happened. Staff very proud of custom coffee machine, but we only had one pod of regular coffee each day, even after we asked for more. Also proud of slippers for cold cement floor in room, but they didn't exist, either! We found out on last morning we should have had order forms for daily complimentary breakfast. Very stressful and disappointing. They really need to get their act together.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed 3 days at the hotel and really enjoyed the hotel! Very friendly staff and cozy rooms. Very quite rooms, clean and great value. Beds are very soft and comfortable! Night time turndowns with homemade treats was a surprise! Free breakfast delivered to the room in the morn. was nice! Showers are very roomy with washcloths! High dollar HDTV and stereo system was rare these days in a hotel. The location is perfect, plenty of places to eat and drink in the Gaslamp district. Close to the airport and warf. All the attractions are walking distance and the hoop on hoop off bus is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxepr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. We were running late (as our dog sitter flaked) and so I called and asked if I could bring the dog for one night, they were so accommodating and said they were dog friendly and it wasn't a problem. In addition they put a little dog bed in our room and left some dog treats. They even called their restaurant to let them know we were running late and to hold our table. The staff was SO nice, especially Parker who wouldn't accept a tip for bringing us breakfast and was so helpful with our dog needs. In addition the location is right in the heart of bars, clubs and restaurants in San Diego. The rooms can get a little loud since you are in the middle of the ruckus but they have very nice furnishing and a very cool, modern look. We had a great time and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

From the moment we checked in we could not have been more disappointed in the Keating. The staff was beyond rude and arrogant, talking down to us as we checked in. Attempting to get any sort of service was worse than pulling teeth. Even the manager treated us with such disdain that the beauty of the hotel itself, which initially drew us to stay at The Keating, was tarnished and tainted.

Our room was mediocre for the price we paid, with visible stains on the linens. You'd have thought that the cement floor would have made it easier to clean after, but it appeared the previous tenants had an affinity for crumbly food; which led to our fellow suite-mates, the Cockroaches, to enjoy our room as well.

The view, architecture and interior design were all breathtaking in the photos, and we'd recommend anyone go and see this layout. However, we highly recommend you enjoy your stay anywhere else in the Gaslamp Quarter.

Room Tip: try the Omni down the street, or the Hotel Solomar. We've had great experiences there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Keating hotel San Diego, this place was in the heart of the the Gaslamp Quarter, the staff were very nice and friendly. Croce's was located right next door, great food. We were there when they had the blackout in San Diego on the 8th of Sept. The hotel had flashlights and bought in food for the guest from the Merk a restaurant that is associated with the hotel. This place is nice for the price. You won't be disappointed, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the PH level , the room is much bigger, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Where are rhe washcloths? The open showers are a hazard. Noisy and cold. Poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twincitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 286 in San Diego
1,660 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#76 of 286 in San Diego
1,475 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#60 of 286 in San Diego
1,022 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $170 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing