We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic boutique bang in the middle of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic boutique bang in the middle of the action”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed in the Imperiale suite and the first thing I noticed about the place was the Jacuzzi tub and the Bang & Olufson sound system. The Jacuzzi tub is really nice and the changing lights added a nice touch. It took me a while to understand the working of the sound system and I am a tech capable person. One problem is that they should wire up the entire system - living room and bedroom together, so one can play music throughout the suite. You cannot also play a dvd in the bedroom but the on demand movies make that redundant to a certain extent. One suggestion to the hotel would be to provide a written manual next to the sound system so that guests understand how to operate it!

Front desk was extremely helpful and even showed us to our room and offered to help with everything. They were also quick in addressing any issues. When we mentioned we were celebrating graduation, we were sent a card congratulating us with our complimentary champagne. This was a truly personal touch and I really appreciated that.

The bathroom showers are heavenly but it is open and transparent so might not be appropriate for non-partners. The toilets have one sliding door so that can be uncomfortable to some travelers in groups.

The bed was really comfortable and with the music allowed me to sleep at night. Be warned about the noise though. I was duly informed that the noise can get a bit loud. But blame it on Friday night and the reveling San Diego clubbers, it was a bit too loud.

Had fun going up and down the oldest (and possibly slowest :-)) elevator in town. The decor is rich, the suite nicely spaced out. Expresso machine is good, in room bar is well stocked. The hotel mascot Smudge is such a cutie, had fun playing ball with her. The hotel restaurant Merk lived up to our expectations despite reviews to the contrary. We took the suggestions of the server and were quite satisfied with the food and the decor. Valet parking is expensive but expected, but the Horton parking lot is right across the road so you can say a few bucks on that (I was lazy!)

All in all, this place is a great experience. It is possibly one of the most convenient locations in downtown. Get your ear plugs, a few nice swigs of champagne, hit the Jacuzzi for a while and you should be fine!

Room Tip: Imperiale Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    169
    85
    88
    84
See reviews for
51
370
46
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriends. Standard room had 2 double beds, see through shower with no door and concrete floors. (Felt a little like a very modern, tricked out dorm room). This was ok for us, but I wouldn't want to stay here with someone I wasn't really comfortable with.
The staff here was awesome. Super nice at the front desk, they couldn't be more helpful with dinner and bar recommendations, and getting us taxis.
The magic bars at turndown time were also a nice touch.
We were here for a weekend of drinking and having fun, so we were not overly bothered by the noise. Like the other reviews say, this hotel is in the middle of all the action -- it is a very very noisy hotel. Lots of noise on the street from the bar scene, and garbage pick up early Sat morning. Ear plugs didn't really help.
I would come back again for the same sort of party weekend. I would not stay here if one had expectations of a restful weekend. I would also try to get a suite/room with king beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happysun16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hip restaurant is in a great central location. Room are modernly designed. Only downside is the street can get a little loud.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed at the Keating recently and couldn't have been more pleased. Every question we had about directions, things to do and service were offered immediately. They attempted to book a tour, but the tour company was full but they were already prepared with maps, directions and fares. They also called our cabs, got our rental car arranged for us and suggested beaches to visit. The rooms are modern and SWANKY! I loved the open concept, very sensual. The toilet is separate from the rest of the room. Beautiful decor. Little dessert treats on the bed. We stayed on the 4th floor and noise was never an issue. The only negative I could say was the water temperature of the shower never quite got hot enough. Would totally recommend this hotel. I noticed most negative reviews were two years old so they must have improved. Our booking agent also included a $25 gift certificate to Merk, their restaurant and very tasty too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColorGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Why? Because the historic elevator is so loud, kept us up along with the inability to keep the room cool. The shower is in the room so there is NO privacy. I had asked about this when I made our reservation and was assured the bathroom was separate. Our room faced another building and we felt so closed in! The service was fair and the hotel really offers few amenities for the price, the espresso machine and high tech electronics don't make up for it. A small airpot with marginal coffee is inside the front door. My stay was supposed to include a take along breakfast which was never offered....when we asked they tossed a few things in a bag (one day!). The wake up call system was not working properly so we came very close to missing our early am flight.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is a hip and different hotel, for sure. It's decked out in Ferrari red everywhere. The room has industrial concrete floors and no separate bathroom. If you are traveling with a "friend", beware. The shower is in the bedroom, with clear glass.

The front desk service was good, but the valet system is terrible. They park cars in the parking garage of a nearby shopping mall so it takes forever to get your car. And valet parking is NOT cheap.

I would not recommend this hotel for a "vacation" or an extended stay. It would be fun and interesting for a couple of nights, but after that it would get annoying. But it is in the middle of the Gaslamp, so food and drink is on your doorstep. Because of the location, and the reasonable price, I would be back if I needed a place for a night. But I would look elsewhere if I was in town for much more than that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I live in San Diego so I don't usually stay in San Diego hotels. However, I had the opportunity to view the Keatings rooms when they first opened and I always wanted to pay a visit. Last Friday, my wife and I spent the night at the Keating and had dinner at The Merk (The Keating's restauraunt). The restaurant was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The hotel was also great. I won't try to describe the rooms. Look at the pictures online at the Keating's website. The rooms are different that any other hotel I have ever seen. There are only 35 rooms in the hotel. The staff knows their guests and treated us very well.

The locatioin in the heart of the Gaslamp was perfect. I know some people have complained of street noise. We did not have any problems with noise.

The next time we need a getaway from the kids, we will return to The Keating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#70 of 279 in San Diego
1,524 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Property: The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing