We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Within stumbling distance of many bars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Harbour Lights

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Ranked #122 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Within stumbling distance of many bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed here with 4 other couples (each in their own room). This was our 2nd stay at this property. We love it for the location. 5th Avenue has tons of places to visit (bars, restaurants, shops). The biggest drawback may be the parking issue. We were fortunate not to have to pay to park. One of the couples did pay each day and another parked over at Horton Plaza (the mall 1 block away) for $10 a day .... much less than the $30+ for the valet.

The rooms were nice. We happened to have a room on the odd side of the building (away from 5th Ave.). They were quiet on that side of the building. The others were on the 5th floor facing 5th Ave. but since they were up higher, the noise was much less. It is great for people watching if that is what you like. The King size bed was comfortable but I'd hate to have to spend the night on the sleeper sofa.

The kitchenette's were ok.... large refrigerator, microwave (a decent size) and cooktops. (no ovens). They also had cookware, glassware, and utensils but who is cooking much when you have so many good places to eat near by.

We also had a similar complaint as others.... the "group presentation" was anything but a group. Each couple did get their own personal rep to sell them WorldMark ownership. Avoid this unless you want to spend 90 minutes of your vacation being pushed to buy. They did compensate you for you time with AMEX gift cards ($75) but don't go to this for their "breakfast". That was a muffin or bagel and some juice and coffee.

Lastly.... enjoy this place for what it is. A timeshare which offers some comforts of home and is located in a lively area.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less noise you'll hear. The best rooms are 704, 706, 708. They have ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank one_lucky_guy-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
80
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Parking is very pricey, however, and there is no hotel shuttle whatsoever. Be prepared to take city transportation if you want to go anywhere outside of walking distance. The room was clean but roadside noise was very audible, and the kitchen area is so small it's hard to keep the counters clear. The sink is about the size of a piece of paper, and the dishes don't fit very well into the washer. Speaking of which, the dishwasher didn't clean very well so we had to hand wash a lot of items. This would all be manageable, however, if not for the extremely pushy people trying to get you to attend owner meetings. We actually tried attending the "group presentation" the morning after we arrived, and the whole experience was very awkward. Instead of a group presentation, there were a bunch of one on one meetings in the designated area. We milled around after checking in with the concierge, and after 15 minutes a guy came up to us and told us we had to check in at the front desk. My husband and I decided to just leave at this point due to the general confusion and lack of interest in sitting through a one on one sales pitch, and thought this would be the end of it. However...within half an hour of our return to the room the concierge was calling us to reschedule our meeting. I relayed our experience and said we weren't interested in rescheduling at that point, and every day after we received at least one phone call trying to get us to attend a meeting. On our second to last day, they rang at least four times that we were in the room, one time twice in a row. The last time I spoke with the concierge she asked us three times to attend a meeting before we left for the airport in the morning, despite my giving a very clear no on every previous attempt. We were on our honeymoon and there as guests of the owners, all I which I explained to the concierge. The experience was so negative, it really left a bad taste in my mouth about the hotel in general. If you like being hounded, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Studio with min-kitchen with king size bed has enough space to feel very comfortable for 1 - 2 adults (and one child) .Maintaining temperature in the room is easy. Everything has a modern and new feel to it. Location is ideal as it is close to restaurants, shopping center and area businesses. Staff are young in age and always willing to helpful with a friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on higher floors and away from the street view. On Saturday nights with a lot of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a surprise---- we got a spacious room in an inner city hotel/resort! It's not a big hotel, but the room is big, clean, fresh, well maintained and decorated. It also has a small kitchen with a regular refrigerator and enough cooking ware, we cooked breakfast and light meals in there.

The location cannot be better: close to all public transportation MTS stops.The MTS can take you anywhere, more than 20 miles away from the center of the city in different directions. We did not need to rent a car! (If you have a car, you have to pay $30 a day for parking) Since it is in downtown, tons of eating, entertainment and shopping places are within a few blocks. You can shop in the mall or buy $1 stuff across the street. The noise was very minimum, maybe because we were not on the street side.

The staff members were nice, helpful and friendly. They greeted us when we were in the lobby or in the hallway. They provided plenty information for us to get around. We felt that we were so welcomed. There is steamed sauna and gym in the hotel so you could relax there after a long day.

One thing I need to point out is, not like most hotels, the housekeepers do not change the sheets and replenish the cleaning stuff everyday; (I'm sure they would have a thorough clean after the guests leave) but upon request, they do it for you or send it to you immediately. We think it is a way to save energy and avoid waste so we don't mind.

We had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xuvirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Four of us here during spring break and wished we could've stayed longer! We arrived an hour early and our room was all ready before check in...yay! My cousins devoured the cookies and popcorn as I check us in, and not to mention, every afternoon that followed.

Yes, it's noisy some nights but we were too tired to let it bother us. Be aware that there is construction across the street due to mall remodeling. Therefore, it's noisy in the morning so we wore the provided earplugs.

We liked everything in our clean room... queen bed is comfy, sofa was springy like any other sofa bed, everything in our well stocked mini kitchen worked (coffee maker, 2 burners, fridge, microwave, dishwasher). There was popcorn, coffee, salt/pepper, dish soap, toiletries, and lots of soft towels provided. Whenever we ran out we would ask front desk or the cleaning ladies and they'd gladly bring to us. In the basement you will find an ice machine, vending machines w/snacks and drinks, steam room, sauna, shower and restrooms, and a laundry room which we used...just ask for detergent in the front desk. I didn't stay to watch my clothes but they do have a bench and TV if you want to wait on your laundry.

On our last night, two of us used both the steam room and sauna...I think only 4-6 persons would fit comfortable since they are small rooms.

Everyone on their staff was really courteous and helpful during our week. Didn't attend timeshare presentation since hubby wasn't with me.

Tips:
*Didn't need to rent a car...bus will take you from airport to hotel...must have exact change $2.25. We bought 4 day pass from kiosk...$15 plus $2 for card...when it ran out we paid $5/day.
*One day we used UBER limo service just for fun! Also, took a taxi from Coronado another night...got tired of waiting for bus.
*If you go to La Jolla eat lunch at Prospect Bar and Grill so you have an awesome view of the beach. Then go to Birch Aquarium after since it's on the way.
*Remember to go in the morning if you want to see the animals awake at the zoo, plus baby panda and mama are only out before noon.
*We walked to seaport village to eat Greek food and watch the sunset, and you can take the ferry across to Coronado island (ate at Peohe's...views are spectacular).
*Farmer's Market is on Sat. mornings in Little Italy... 0.8 miles from hotel...we brought a backpack to carry food back...check out the Catholic Church...reminds me of the one's in Italy.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask for room that doesn't face 5th avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a Monday through Friday at this Wyndham. Staff were all excellent. The location has positives and negatives, but definitely more positives. The negative is its location in the gas lamp district if you want to make it an early night. We weren't there for a Friday or Saturday night, but based on the weekday nights, the volume from the revelers headed home I am sure would be much louder. Wyndham does provide earplugs on the night stands. The positive is its location right in the heart of the restaurant and bar area. Everything is within a short walk, to include a very good public trans system to get further away. We had no need for a rental car, and enjoyed the local area. We will be back to this Wyndham, but may try for a rear room if there over a weekend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 6th floor of the Hotel and could hear noise from the local bars every night of our 5 night stay. In addition to this, our room should have been cleaned every three days but no one came to clean the room during our entire stay. Also, we were constantly ask to attend a time share meeting which made me not want to go down to the lobby. As far as the accommodations there was one king size bed and a sofa bed which were positioned right next to each other, not good for a family of four. Some things that were helpful was the friendly staff and the free washers and dryers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#120 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#25 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Property: Wyndham Harbour Lights
Address: 911 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in San Diego
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#88 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing