We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, w/ minor negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Ranked #142 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, w/ minor negative”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a Monday through Friday at this Wyndham. Staff were all excellent. The location has positives and negatives, but definitely more positives. The negative is its location in the gas lamp district if you want to make it an early night. We weren't there for a Friday or Saturday night, but based on the weekday nights, the volume from the revelers headed home I am sure would be much louder. Wyndham does provide earplugs on the night stands. The positive is its location right in the heart of the restaurant and bar area. Everything is within a short walk, to include a very good public trans system to get further away. We had no need for a rental car, and enjoyed the local area. We will be back to this Wyndham, but may try for a rear room if there over a weekend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    63
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
90
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 6th floor of the Hotel and could hear noise from the local bars every night of our 5 night stay. In addition to this, our room should have been cleaned every three days but no one came to clean the room during our entire stay. Also, we were constantly ask to attend a time share meeting which made me not want to go down to the lobby. As far as the accommodations there was one king size bed and a sofa bed which were positioned right next to each other, not good for a family of four. Some things that were helpful was the friendly staff and the free washers and dryers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just got home from a 4 night stay at Harbour Lights. First the good- The staff were all very friendly and helpful, opening doors, greeting you like friends, and offering suggestions for whatever you might need (locations of attractions to places to eat, etc.) Being in the Gaslamp District, it is really close to lots of really good restaurants and shopping, plus the architecture of the historical buildings is wonderful to look at. The room was spacious and had everything we needed, including a small kitchenette, there was a microwave, but no oven. It was clean and comfortable. But then, there is the bad- parking costs $30.00 a night, and the valet has to bring your car each time (they were prompt and friendly about it). Along with the Gaslamp District location, there is noise, and lots of it. Right across the street is a bar, no make that several bars, and the patrons like to party hearty, long and loud. If you are a late night person, this might not be so bad, but I'm an early riser. Even still, the noise before dawn woke me up, with street crews working on the roads, and/or power washing the sidewalks. There are also homeless people in the area, who were quite vocal, cursing when the police moved them along in the evening. We were in a room on the 5th floor, facing 5th St. and there were only 2 floors above us. I don't think you could get high enough to get away from the noise. There is no place inside the property to get a snack, or purchase sundries. There is also no courtyard, pool or garden area to be able to take advantage of the wonderful San Diego weather. I am a Wyndham vacation owner, and do not like being asked to go to the "owner update" meetings, which really are sales pitches, though I was able to skip it this time, having just gone to one the week before at another location. As an owner, I don't think I will be returning to this particular property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unicornsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

An awesome hotel situated in the Gaslamp Qtr. Lots of great places We travelled with our 14 month so requested a portacot and it was brought up in minutes. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Hot water for bottles was readily available in the lobby. Sure there was a little bit of noise after hours but nothing to stop you sleeping. Earplugs were available but not used. Washing machines etc downstairs were easily accessible. A lot of people on here were whinging about being pressured to sit down and do a time share talk with the reps but we werent hassled once. A full kitchen was also in our room with a full size fridge which made it easy to go to the local market and stock up. Westfield is right around the corner. A short walk to the main attractions and a bus stop to get to the zoo is very close. (100m).

We intend on coming back to San Deigo in a few yrs time and will definately stay here once again.

Room Tip: We stayed facing the back car park on level 6 from memory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

First off, I have to commend the public transportation system in San Diego, the MTS. All the buses we rode were on time, very clean, the drivers helpful and patient. The moment you go outside of the SAN airport, the #992 picks you up right at the sidewalk every 15 min Monday thru Friday, under 30 min Sat and Sun. Fare is $2.25 one way or with multiple transfers get the $5 day pass for the duration of your stay. Seniors (60+) is only $1.10. Exact change only. Within 15-20 minutes depending on traffic we were deposited at 5th and Broadway, just a few steps away from Harbour Lights. From that corner we could take #7 to get to the Zoo and Balboa Park. (Must visit!) or #901 to Coronado Island driving across their beautiful bridge (Loved the Hotel Del Coronado and the pristine white beaches there! For a bit of adventure for the return trip back, ride the #904 across the street from the Hotel Del -comes five min after the hour Mon thru Sat only from 10am to 6pm to the Ferry Landing and ride the ferry to the Embarcadero for $4.25 and then have lunch or dinner at the nearby Fish Market Restaurant-Lower Level cheaper) The concierge has a flyer on what trolley lines or bus routes for the city's major attractions. You don't really need a car. Besides, daily parking at the hotel is $30.
The hotel's location is perfect, near so many restaurants and stores. Ralph's is a couple of blocks away to stock on food and snacks. Harbor Lights has over 60 studios and just one bedrm unit. Our studio was in the back, very clean and quiet, spacious with a king bed and sleeper sofa, Housekeeping had formed a cute doggie from their generous towels (We had six sets of white, thick towels.) and decorated it for Valentine's Day with red, over-sized glasses and heart candies which they placed on the bed. What a nice touch; truly set the tone for the rest of our stay. There were even ear plugs available for the city noises outside or for snoring guests. Hotel Staff was excellent and friendly and very helpful. They baked chocolate cookies for guests in the afternoon at the front desk and had popped popcorn nearby in the lobby. The concierge had recommendations galore and discount coupons for restaurants and for most of the major attractions. The owners update was short and sweet. We were given lunch and afterwards, two day passes to the zoo, a $88 value - well worth the 45 minutes. What more could you ask for. We loved Harbour Lights and plan to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

There were four of us traveling, 2 adults and 2 kids (12 and 9). The one bedroom was not available for the week we stayed, but the studio worked. After the first night, we asked for a roll away bed and had it in our room within minutes of requesting it. The kitchen had everything that we needed. We ate breakfast and snacks in the room every day. The location was very convenient and we were able to easily find bus routes everywhere. The staff at the hotel was excellent, the concierge was extremely helpful and was very knowledgeable about activities for adults and children. We didn't use the gym as we were able to run to Balboa Park from the hotel which was beautiful. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is in an urban area and you can hear some noises at night, but again, you are in the middle of a busy city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jesric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The staff at the Wyndham Harbour Lights were the greatest. We flew in to John Wayne Airport and then rode the train to San Diego. The train station was a medium walk to the Wyndham. There were plenty of things to keep us occupied while there and if we wanted to do anything else we just had to ask the staff. Told them it was my husband's birthday and before we knew it and had unpacked, they had brought up a card and a surprise. The resort manager, Sarah, was the best and talked to us whenever we saw her.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#131 of 279 in San Diego
574 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Property: Wyndham Harbour Lights
Address: 911 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing