We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Ranked #131 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location and super friendly staff! Many restaurants and sights to see within walking distance. We had a rental car which was convenient but costly at $30 per day. The valet's did an excellent job of our in and out travels at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pescapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
89
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Four friends and I stayed here for Comic Con, and it was fantastic. The room was beautiful with a kitchen complete with a fridge, freezer AND ice maker (anyone who reads my reviews knows how I am about ice availability at hotels). The location was perfect with restaurants, shops, and the mall in close proximity. And the best part was being on 5th avenue for Comic Con. The convention center is just down the street, and easy walk to and from each day. We were even able to drop off our swag in the afternoon and go back for more!

The staff was accommodating, helping us with our massive and awkwardly shaped luggage when we arrived, and storing and then helping us load our geek loot when we left. They were pleasant and made us laugh when they asked us if this was just for us. "Do you have a store?" "No, just for us." Clearly, we had accumulated way too many poster tubes, swag bags, and action figures for just five geek-ettes, but we had a laugh with the valet as he helped us load the TARDIS-like car, all incredulous that it would all make it back to Cucamonga. Again, excellent, fun, terrific staff.

The room had a king bed plus a queen-sized convertible couch. We were very comfortable as a few of us didn't even sleep there much and chose to sleep at the Con in line for one of the massive panels in Hall H. I am too old for that, so I can say that the room was very quiet and the beds, even the convertible, were perfect. The bathroom was large, and the shower functional. We had no issues with anything during our stay.

If you plan on staying the Gaslamp district for a few days, this is a terrific place to patronize. Horton Plaza is just around the corner for any mall-type needs, and the Ralphs grocery store is down the street. One of the best elements of this hotel was we didn't have to book it through Comic Con. We were able to get it almost a year in advance in anticipation of the Con while all other hotels in the district black-out that weekend and reserve their rooms to be booked through a lottery system via Comic Con. This system is terrible, so the fact that we could get such an amazing place to stay and not have to take the chance of drawing a room in Mission Valley and have to take the shuttle there and back each day, was just another example of what a great place the Wyndham Harbour Lights was. The geeks were thrilled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrs_Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff is wonderful. Anything you need they are on it. The rooms are very clean and furniture it up to date. Bedding was fabulous. Very comfortable. Bathrooms are big. It is in the heart of the city which is perfect for anywhere you need to travel. I was there for a convention and it was within walking distance. Less then a mile. About a 15 minute walk. I have stayed there twice already and will do so for next years convention. Our room was #310 that was over looking 5th ave with a small balcony. Noise at night was at a minimal. Keep in mind we were there at a very busy time so I would assume there is even less noise any other time. Jessica at the front desk was a doll along with the rest of the employees. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center and had a great experience. Everyone was very nice and helpful, and the room was huge. It had everything I needed, and the bed was comfortable. You couldn't ask for a better location. A great stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Junkie745685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Most of the units in this resort are studios (hotel style), and I believe there is 1-1bdrm unit. We were able to get two studio units adjacent to each other to accommodate the family - me, my husband, 1-1/2yr old daughter and my mother took the second unit. The resort itself was clean, the concierge were VERY helpful. We did have a leak in the bathroom that the staff was unable to fix, though they did make every effort to do so in an expeditious manner. I'm just happy the leak occurred closer to the end of our trip, otherwise we'd have had to change rooms or something. This hotel lived up to the Wyndham standards for sure.

This hotel is located in the heart of the GasLamp district which is awesome for night time entertainment, restaurants so you'll have your choice of restaurants and bars/clubs to go to. If you're looking for things to do in the daytime this hotel was conveniently located a few blocks away from the light rail system and bus system. Absolutely no need to rent a car, we just walked down the street and were able to get to all the popular attractions - San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park., Coronado Island. It was a great trip as there are lots to do and the location of the hotel afforded us that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeSharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of San Diego to base a vacation out of. It is located in the GasLamp district..one minute outside in the evening will tell you how the district got its name.

Plenty of things to see and do just within walking distance of the hotel. A more than ample supply of food venues to choose from at just as many restaurants.

There is a mall just couple of blocks away from the hotel in case you forgot something, also a movie theatre in the mall for the slightest of chances of a rain day here.

The room was more than adequate in size and up to date. There is public parking in rear of the hotel, I didn't need a car so I don't know the price structure.

However this parking lot is used by many who come to party and revel at the many locales near the hotel, so if you have a rear face room it may be a bit noisy come closing time..

I was able to use mass transit bus and tram to wherever I needed to go around town if I did not walk. Public buses are a bargain.

Take the train to Oceanside if you have time to see the Wyndham there

Room Tip: Avoid the parking lot side during weekends if some slight noise may bother from night club goers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Harbor Lights again for a second time in less than 6 months. It was great-again!!! We even took friends with us for this trip. They loved it as well. Everything we needed was in the room. It's close to shopping, public transportation, night life & great food. The staff members were so friendly but also very professional. Brian's 24 was recommended for breakfast, we loved it as well. The Yard House is also close by and didn't disappoint either. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 5th Street allow you to see all the action outside once the sun goes down. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cutemel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#129 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Property: Wyndham Harbour Lights
Address: 911 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing