We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to base a San Diego stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Ranked #138 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Island,NY
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great location to base a San Diego stay at”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of San Diego to base a vacation out of. It is located in the GasLamp district..one minute outside in the evening will tell you how the district got its name.

Plenty of things to see and do just within walking distance of the hotel. A more than ample supply of food venues to choose from at just as many restaurants.

There is a mall just couple of blocks away from the hotel in case you forgot something, also a movie theatre in the mall for the slightest of chances of a rain day here.

The room was more than adequate in size and up to date. There is public parking in rear of the hotel, I didn't need a car so I don't know the price structure.

However this parking lot is used by many who come to party and revel at the many locales near the hotel, so if you have a rear face room it may be a bit noisy come closing time..

I was able to use mass transit bus and tram to wherever I needed to go around town if I did not walk. Public buses are a bargain.

Take the train to Oceanside if you have time to see the Wyndham there

Room Tip: Avoid the parking lot side during weekends if some slight noise may bother from night club goers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
58
91
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Harbor Lights again for a second time in less than 6 months. It was great-again!!! We even took friends with us for this trip. They loved it as well. Everything we needed was in the room. It's close to shopping, public transportation, night life & great food. The staff members were so friendly but also very professional. Brian's 24 was recommended for breakfast, we loved it as well. The Yard House is also close by and didn't disappoint either. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 5th Street allow you to see all the action outside once the sun goes down. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cutemel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was our first visit to San Diego, and the location of Harbour Lights suited our sightseeing needs. The studio unit had a lot of space and felt very comfortable (although a dresser or nightstands with drawers would have been nice). The front desk, concierge, service dept., valet, etc. were all outstanding and went above and beyond to help with any questions we had. We had limited time to sightsee but liked being able to walk to the ocean and that the zoo was a short drive away. The only real drawback was the noise from the street during the nights. We were on the fourth floor, and even though our room was literally next to the elevator, we didn't really notice any noise INSIDE. Unfortunately, we could hear all to well the various noises from the street below (buses idling at the street light, almost-clear conversations from all the people walking, etc.) We would gladly stay here again, but we'd bring a nature soundtrack to drown out the noise.

Room Tip: A higher floor may lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Fantastic location, located on 5th Ave. - the heart of the Gaslamp District.  Accommodations are clean, new, very efficient and very comfortable.  Hotel staff was very helpful throughout our entire stay.  

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great place to stay - we stayed in only 1 bedroom unit March 22-29, 2012 - loved it! Great room, plenty of space for the 4 of us (2 kids).

This is a great location for getting around San Diego - right in the Gaslamp area. It is definitely loud at night - especially on the weekends - but it can be entertaining to watch some of the people down there! At times it did seem like non-stop action from police, ambulances, and fire trucks going by in every-which-direction, but it was still a comfortable place to stay.

The staff here were absolutely I N C R E D I B L E - always friendly, willing to help, and great service all around! With the bell-men at the door it made it feel safe to come and go from the resort any time of day.

There is a trolley stop only a block away - made for a convenient way to get around without a car. Parking is via vallet parking with unlimited in/out for $29/day for 2012 - seems pricey, but compared to area parking it is quite reasonable - we did 5 of our days with no vehicle then rented a car to get to some further out places the last 2 days. The mass transit via buses/trolley's is superb in the area with frequent service - easy to get to San Diego Zoo, Sea World, USS Midway museum, Coronado island, and many other places. If you are going - check into the Go-San Diego Card - good way to access many popular destinations with one single (pricey, but worth it) payment.

Would absolutely stay here again! Room for improvement? - needs a swimming pool and hot tub. Other than that - GREAT! Thanks Wyndham!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tedmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Harbour Lights is a Wyndham property at the north end of the Gaslamp district a block away from Horton Plaza. We had a large room that fit a king bed, and a queen sofa bed, eating table and full kitchen totally supplied, and bath that could be handicap size. The location is perfect for walking to restaurants in the Gaslamp district. Valet parking with unlimited in & out available. Our room on the back side was fairly quiet of street noise. The walls are thin so you can hear toilets flushing and people in the hall. It looks renovated so the halls and rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a gym, steam room, sauna, snack center with vending machines, and laundry facilities. This is a timeshare vacation resort by Wyndham.

Room Tip: If you want to people watch, ask for a street view. If you want quiet, ask for a back room up on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at Wyndam Harbour Lights in December 2011. Overall, the hotel is clean and the staff was very helpful. The rooms are large in size and the decor was pleasant. However, at night the area is very loud. You can hear the party crowd well into the early mornings on the weekends. This hotel is located right in downtown San Diego - so in the mornings you will find homeless people sleeping on the streets and the smell from the night before can be over whelming. If you’re looking for a quiet location this isn't it, but if you’re interested in night life the Harbour Lights is in a prime location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyBlue999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#129 of 278 in San Diego
584 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Property: Wyndham Harbour Lights
Address: 911 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing