We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Really Is Key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Ranked #141 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Location Really Is Key”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My first stay at Wyndham Harbour Lights did not disappoint. The location is phenomenal; in the heart of everything that is the Gas Lamp District. I have never seen non-stop revelers outside of Las Vegas. The weekend brought action from Friday thru Monday.

I was prepared in advance for the studio unit with a king-sized bed; small by typical Wyndham properties standards. However, the unit is quite spacious with a well-equipped kitchenette. The bathroom was huge with ample lighting. Odd layout, however. The kitchenette was at the foot of the bed whilst the television was in the sitting area by the Juliet balcony. It seems more logical to put the kitchenette nearer the living area; I don’t think anyone would really want to share the sleeping area with the kitchen. Last logistical difficulty, the full-length mirror was on the side of the bed as opposed to in the hallway. Did any of this hinder my stay? Absolutely not, but I could not avoid mentioning it.

When entering and exiting the property, we were consistently greeted by Wyndham staff members, who smiled and made direct eye contact. I definitely felt welcomed and appreciated.

Security was present in the evening upon our return to the property. I do not know if that’s the standard throughout the week as well or only on the weekends. Considering how much foot traffic there was in the area, it was comforting to know that we were safer with more than just locks on the door. The elevators also require a keycard for access, which is nice.

The units do not have washers and dryers; however, complimentary use is available in the lower level along with the well-equipped exercise room.

I was asked to participate in the resort update. I declined and Sierra was a little insistent. I declined a little more firmly and she backed off. The next day I did receive a telephone call with another request from a staff member. Declined again, no further contact. I would’ve liked the initial refusal to be enough, but no harm done to my vacation.

I will return to Wyndham Harbour Lights on future trips to San Diego, as the location and comfort level are great selling points. High five.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iluv2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    63
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
58
91
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Pablo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The bed was comfortable, clean, helpful front desk. Parking is the pits, not conviently located for Convention as indicated. Maybe I'll try it on a relaxing trip and enjoy it more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We just got back from 5 nights at the Wyndham Harbour Lights ....... and I can honestly say is was a great holiday. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and very professional! ..a reflection of the management!!! We went to an 'update' session and it was pleasant, timely and the salesperson answered some questions for us (did not buy and no pressure to buy!). We had lots of wonderful suggestions from the staff and it helped since we needed the public transit ........ very easy to use!!
The location is great for meals out, seeing different sites, and shopping (grocery store close by). Loved the Old Town, the Zoo, the USS Midway tour, over to Coronada (ferry) and had a wonderful meal at the 'Fish Market and Restaurant" (right beside the USS Midway)...watched the sun set over the bay! Would love to return! Rented a car for the day and headed up the coast...La Jolla and lunch at Torre Pines Golf course.......great view!
Lots of homeless in the area so be prepared to see them but they were no problem!!!
We would love to return!

Room Tip: We asked for an higher level room in the back and it worked out well!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiangolfer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is an average property on a busy street in the Gaslamp District of San Diego. The thing that set this place apart is the tremendous staff. They are the best. Their attentive to needs and very fun. They were almost friends after a weeks stay! They r a great reason to come back here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nsj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

What a beautiful hotel and the service is top of the class. We felt like we were "someone" every time we approached the hotel with a cheerful greeting and the doors being opened for us. When we checked in the staff had our bags waiting in our room. The staff was very helpful with giving suggestions of where to eat and the must sees in San Diego. The valet service is pricey but SO SO SO worth it! $29 a day goes a long way! We had originally thought that we would try to park in a lot thinking we would save money until we read the lot rules and they wanted to charge for every time we went in and out not to mention the not so close walk to go get your car. With Harbour Lights Valet we picked up the phone and said we needed our rental car and walked down stairs and within minutes it was there - when we brought rental car back same thing pulled up gave them the keys and walked right into our hotel. So worth the $29 a day. We stayed here 10/27/11-11/1/11. If I was to return I certainly would not stay here the same weekend as their Halloween Monster Bash - total craziness and we made the mistake of going out to eat out of the city and when we came back it took us an hour just to go a couple of streets over to our hotel because of the event traffic. However with that being said boy I have never seen a city go all out for Halloween like San Diego - go to the House of Blues and eat on the patio and just people watch (costumes!!) Back to the hotel - they have a really nice work out room, free laundry service which are both bonuses! The bed was very comfortable and I didn't find myself saying I miss my own bed which I usually say at most hotels.

Room Tip: We had a studio and it had a small kitchen - plenty of room for a couple for a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel4osu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The resort is a great boutique hotel right in the center of downtown, great for handicapped, too. Easy access to elevator & room, doorman opens door for you. Pretty easy for handi-capped to get around. Even my dad could walk the short distance to Horton Plaza and the Yard House Restaurant. Front desk sent up a bottle of champagne when they heard we had a Birthday celebration going on. Water pressure in shower so-so. Pretty good exercise equipment, small room, but I was surprised to find both a sauna & steamroom! $29 valet fee (but if you do the presentation you get a gift card that you can turn around & use to pay for it). Concierge great - sent us on a trolley tour for the day - what a deal! Try it - didn't know there were 8 neighborhoods located downtown. Got in all the sights we wanted to see. Bathrooms at each location stop. Elderly parents enjoyed everything! Enjoy yourselves!

Room Tip: You can ask for a room near the elevator for elderly/handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry_from_SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, PA USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Frequent, fast public bus, #992, fares single trip $2.50reg /$1.10 senior, from airport to 1/2 block away. Dozens of restaurants/bars and large Ralph's grocery close by. Kitchenette fully supplied. Free laundry in basement. Exercise equipment has own individual cable TV monitor/iPOD connect. Unusual to find a well-maintained sauna and steam room for relaxing. Studio is spacious and bed is huge and so comfortable. Excellent, frequent public transportation, $5 day pass, argues against car rental, even to nearby towns, except for rural trips, such as to Prince of Peace Abbey in Oceanside, which even that could be walked a bit. Wyndham service personnel always around+extremely helpful. Don't contribute to the "street" people. Social programs are available to them; donate instead to local churches'+charities' programs to help them. There are bike/foot patrols to avoid any unpleasantness.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back, not on 5th Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montagnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
#131 of 278 in San Diego
582 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Harbour Lights

Property: Wyndham Harbour Lights
Address: 911 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6101 (Formerly Fairfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Harbour Lights 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wyndham Harbour Lights in beautiful San Diego, CA. Our resort offers stylish downtown loft accommodations with retro furnishings, flat screen TV’s, CD/DVD/Stereo, pull out sofa, mini kitchenettes, and high end bathroom amenities from Bath & Body Works. Our resort has a gym, steam room, and sauna in the lower level for all your fitness needs. We are also pleased to announce the arrival of one of the most requested amenities, complimentary in-room wireless internet! To get connected using your wireless accessible laptop, just follow the simple instructions on the card next to your phone. A list of grocery services, channel listings, and other downtown gyms are provided for you in the front of the guest directory located in your room. If you would like to know more about these services please dial “0” on your phone to reach a member of the front office team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Harbour Lights Hotel San Diego
Wyndham San Diego
Wyndham Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing