We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies Who Lunch”
Review of Cafe Chloe

Cafe Chloe
Ranked #120 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Adorable Jewel box of a Cafe, serving Brunch, Happy Hour, and Dinner daily. A bit of Paris for the Locals!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ladies Who Lunch”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had our ladies' day lined up: auction at Fr. Joe's, visit to the new library downtown, and lunch at Cafe Chloes. We began our East Village experience with a glass of rose champagne and a blind tasting that led to a Mount Eden chardonnay over the French white burgundy. The Croque Madame with a creamy poached egg and mornay sauce was large enough to split. My friend asked that her egg be fluffy egg whites only--eh, voila. I shall return for the steak tartare and happy hour caviar service. Can't wait. The clientele is sophisticated, as is the service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patient111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    108
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pomme frites and lavender lemonade = divine”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great place for lunch in the East Village near downtown San Diego. I cannot go without ordering their pomme frites with three dipping sauces and the lavender lemonade. They steal the show. I've had a burger, shared in the mac and cheese (which was just over-the-top rich and gooey), yummy salads, and great specials. But the pomme frites ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of Paris in San Diego”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This cafe could be in Paris or Provence and easily hold it's little head high.
The commitment to the ingredients and the perfect execution are very hard to find in any American city.
Cafe Chloe delivers the real deal. From the wonderful coffees and expresso to the beautifully executed dishes.
The breakfast tart with prosciutto and mushrooms simply can not be better done.
You can feast on small plates and appetizers.
This cafe brings back the best of memories of Provence for us.
Tres bien Cafe Chloe!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More reasons to brunch at Cafe Chloes”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

As former residents of San Diego, whenever we return to the city, we always include a brunch at Café Chloe's. It had been six months since our last visit and we had not expected a change in the menu but there was to our surprise! The wild salmon was fantastic and, as residents of Oregon, we appreciate salmon. My wife had the chicken breast with white corn. We "shared" these two plates and were very satisfied. Note: these might be specials and might not be available when you visit. However, having samples every other brunch dish except the mussesl (allergy), you will not be disappointed.
Another great feature is the service. The waiters and waitresses are very attentive.
I would also recommend the "sticky bun." I share mine with my wife and the excellent coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Small venue, but attentive staff, and very good coffee. The Pain au Chocolat was very delicious. We'll go again next time we're in San Diego.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RemsterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chloe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Chloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing