We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to return at the end of the day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I was in San Diego for a seminar. Having read reviews of the hotel where the seminar was being held, I decided I could not stay there. So, I took a chance with Hillcrest House. The minute I pulled into the driveway I knew I had made the right choice!

I stayed in the Gaslamp Room and it is tiny but just perfect for me. Fabulous mattress and great sheets made turning in each night a pleasure. I also have certain foods I like in the morning and it was okay to keep a few of my own small items in the fridge. Coffee was good and strong, saving me a trip to Starbucks or Peet's (both nearby) in the morning. I also stocked up on healthy lunches and snacks at Wholefoods which was within walking distance.

Anne was away but her Mom Barb made me feel so welcome. Even at night, when I returned after a long day, just walking through the quiet house and up to my room put me at ease. I was sad to leave and look forward to returning in the Fall.

This place is not fancy, but thoughtfully decorated and very clean. There was a little road noise at night but it was really minimal and I had no trouble sleeping. Off-street parking was a big plus. And I felt centrally located, not more than 15 minutes from anywhere I wanted to go.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmySRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 600 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nites in March, 2007 and were very glad we did. We stayed in the Gaslamp Room and loved it. VERY comfy bed, brand new bathroom--loved that big shower! Anne and her mom (and Calli the Yorkie) treated us like old friends. We would not hesitate to book here again next time in town. So nice to meet great people when away from home. Do not hesitate to book here, its a great find.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank H&BfromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

I had the pleasure of staying at Hillcrest House in December while in San Diego for a short holiday. Ann was extremely friendly, very helpful, and became like a sister in a few short days. I stayed in the Zoo room and I couldn't have been more comfortable. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LMB013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

I recently stayed at Hillcrest House while doing business in San Diego. It was like staying in the home of a friend. Ann Callahan and her mom were so gracious - from offering great restaurant suggestions and helping with reservations to even packing me breakfast when I had to leave early one morning.
The accomodations are quite comfy and the area is filled with wonderful restaurants and interesting stores.

I am truly looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank vstakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

The room was clean and comfortable with a large modern bathroom. The innkeeper and her mother, who assisted in running the B &B, were friendly and made my wife and I feel at home. The innkeeper was very knowledgable of the Hillcrest area , where the B&B is located, and the San Diego area in general. Her restaurant suggestions were outstanding and requested directions to places of interest right on target.
A basic breakfast was provided . Every effort was given to insure a pleasant stay. A great reasonably priced B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank jennyj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank brnidgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#10 of 286 in San Diego
1,970 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scripps Inn
#1 of 4 in La Jolla
337 reviews
Found Hotel San Diego
#5 of 33 in San Diego
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $179 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing