We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ann is the difference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed with Ann earlier this month. With her local knowledge, cartogrophy skills in drawing lovely basic maps, and enthusiasm for the city, this is a MUST place to stay if you want to get the most out of a visit to this lovely and varied city. Her restaurant recommendations are first class, and the places to see are well within a comfortable drive. The B&B is friendly, homely, and inviting. Don't stay in a hotel, go to this place and get to the heart of it, the location is ideal for all major attractions. This is the place to go in San Diego

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Y0rkTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Wow...what a complement! I always tell guest that it is "The Fantastic Guests" that make Hillcrest House what it is !!! Location, a beautiful house, and free parking, don't hurt either ;) Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 598 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

It's a very nice place. You can't beat the location if you want to walk to dinner - right in the Hillcrest area, within a very easy walk of restaurants of every kind. Ann and Shannon went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine, and parking was included, which is very rare for San Diego. The room had everything I needed, and the common guest fridge was available as well. I found both the bed and the sheets softer than I like for comfortable sleeping, but I know that's just a matter of taste, and that many people would like them a lot (and most of the others wouldn't notice).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eek_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hello, and thank you for posting about your recent experience here at Hillcrest House. Our location is "Key" !!!! Right in the City Center, this historic neighborhood ROCKS !!! We love the 2 block walk to our favorite Craft Brew Pub, and send lots of guests to experience all Hillcrest has to offer. Hope to see you back someday soon. Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We love Ann, she does an amazing job making everyone comfortable. This is our second time staying with her, I can't say enough good things about the place. The beds are comfortable and everything is kept clean and homey.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello Dan, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your 2nd stay with us. You put a smile on my face, when you noticed right away, that I had a door put on the bathroom entrance of the Old Town Room (where you stayed on your 1st visit). When a suggestion comes up, it never falls on deaf ears with me. Thanks for your business, and hope to see you and Barbara back when your conference returns to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here, we stayed in the Old Town Room. The house has a great front porch to sit and relax. You can walk to plenty of great bars and restaurants! Ann was friendly and the breakfast was ample.

Definitely worth staying here!

Room Tip: The Old Town room has its own little private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

You know...The Old Town Room is where we have our friends and family stay when visiting us. It's a great room, and the private outdoor patio is a bonus! Thanks for your business, and taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you back! Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my 13 year significant other wanted to get away for his birthday. We searched for a bed and breakfast and we found this great one! We stayed for two nights in the Old Town Suite, this room comes with with your own private patio, comfortable bed, TV, WiFi, private patio, spacious full bathroom, walk-in closet space, free heathy breakfast with great conversation at the dinning room table. The house was warm and inviting from the moment we walked in and spoke with the housekeeper. The entire house is extremely clean and Ann the Innkeeper is genuinely wonderful with all her guests and extremely knowledgable with the area. This is your place to stay if you are going to visit San Diego!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were in San Diego for a family emergency for three weeks. Ann and her trusty assistant, Shannon, took excellent care of us. We felt there was true compassion and care. We stayed first at the B&B and later moved to the vacation rental. The vacation rental is a divine two-bedroom bungalow with a terrific kitchen. We spent a lot of time cooking soothing meals, one of which was Thanksgiving supper. We highly recommend this property and this innkeeper to potential guests. Thanks so much Ann!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillyBiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time in San Diego. Forgot our GPS but Ann's directions saved the day. She was full of great information on restaurants and things to do. The location was central and full of shops and restaurants. The room was great, the bed was super comfortable and Ann made us feel right at home. We would love to go back and visit. We highly recommend the Hillcrest House to anyone visiting the SD area but book early. She's very busy and not just during high season.

Room Tip: We stayed in Balboa room which was in a guest house on the property. The room was very quiet and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,091 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#4 of 33 in San Diego
231 reviews
Scripps Inn
#1 of 4 in La Jolla
333 reviews
Found Hotel San Diego
#5 of 33 in San Diego
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $153 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing