We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
553
42
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
42
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bzoo roomother guestsbalboa parkbalboa roomthe main househome away from homeold townfresh fruitoff street parkingwarm muffinsuniversity aveprivate entrancewithin walking distanceevery morningrestaurant recommendationshard boiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 612 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We just stayed at the Hillcrest House, which is central to any activity in San Diego, and had a flawless, wonderful time. It was better than the typical hotel room where you transverse long hallways and cold elevators. Ann is an experienced host and it showed! Rather than staying at a hotel, you must stay at Hillcrest House B & B. The weather was perfect as was the breakfast.
Tom and Nancy

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pepper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I just want to Thank Ann Callahan owner of this wonderful B&B for a very memeorable stay. With so many areas to stay in San Diego the B&B brought a home feeling and I quickly learn from Ann the layout of the city. Breakfast has always been a big meal in my day and the spread that Ann puts out is delicious.
I hope to see you again really soon.

Sincerely,

Lorna

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lorna2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I recently spent two nights of our honeymoon at the Hillcrest House. We had been searching for an affordable place in San Diego that was not going to be swarming with kids. We wanted something quiet, but close to the action. Hillcrest House kind of fell into our laps and we knew that it was the place to stay.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and we were warmly greeted by Ann. She gave us maps and lots of great tips on what to see and where to eat.

Hillcrest House is located in the Hillcrest neighborhood, which is full of cute restaurants, shops and bars. It is very close to Old Town, where we ended up our first night for dinner.

We stayed in the Old Town room, which has it's own entrance and patio. To help us celebrate, a bottle of champagne was waiting in our room with a nice card from Ann. It was the perfect way to start our honeymoon. The king size bed was extraordinarily comfortable - we didn't want to leave! We had two much needed nights of excellent sleep.

Breakfast was a nice treat - the coffee and muffins are amazing! A great way to start your day.

My husband and I decided that we will stay at the Hillcrest House everytime we visit San Diego. Ann makes you feel right at home, and there is nothing better than feeling welcome when you are away from home.

We highly recommend the Hillcrest House!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rockagirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed in the Zoo Room on vacation with my mother. It was spacious and not cramped. Ann the innkeeper was such a sweetheart. Gave us maps and explained how to get to places using public transportation. Gave great recommendations for restaurants within walking distance of B&B. The breakfast was simple, but fresh. In the evening there were always tasty treats. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrigypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Our stay at Hillcrest House was just wonderful. At our arrival, we were greeted by Ann's lovely mum Barbara. The way she welcomed us made us feel at home right from the start. We stayed in the Zoo room, which has a beautiful en suite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linnen impeccable. Breakfast is delicious with tasty fresh fruit and muffins, daily made by Ann herself. It is fun to share the breakfast table with the other guests and sometimes you just forget the time when you are chatting away.

There is ample free parking space for your car in front and behind the B&B, but if you have no own transport, there are several bus lines going through the area.

After a busy day of sightseeing, we loved to relax on the porch before going out to dinner.

The B&B is located in a quiet street in the pleasant neighbourhoud of Hillcrest, with plenty of restaurants to everyone's taste. Ann gave us good tips on where to eat. Most businesses are privately owned, so we appreciated the personal service and the fact we were not "rushed" like in many American chain restaurants.

When we said goodbye after three nights, we really regretted that we could not stay any longer, not only because San Diego is such a wonderful city, but mainly because Ann is such a wonderful hostess.

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay with a warm personal touch, this is the place in San Diego !

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Teletubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews