We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a charming B&B! From arrival to departure, everything was lovely. We stayed in the Cottage which was perfect. The rooms are small enough to be cozy, yet large enough to be comfortable. A bonus was the living room with comfy furniture and a pull down desk. Everything was sparkling clean. The bed was fit for royalty, with wonderful sheets. Be sure to save room in your luggage for a set. Innkeeper, Ann has them for purchase. Ann and her assistant, Shannon were welcoming and attentive but not overwhelming. Ann is a wealth of knowledge about the area and readily offers suggestions to enhance the San Diego experience. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on. The vibrant Hillcrest Neighborhood is teeming with restaurants, so it helps to have the help of an experienced navigator to make your selection. The breakfast was fresh, varied & delicious. There is something for every taste, wonderful coffee, cereal, fresh fruit, toast, mini muffins, a variety of yogurt flavors & hard boiled eggs. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault! The best
amenity is the Resident Yorkie, Callie. She's
a delight and if you want, you can take her for a walk. I highly recommend this B&B. It's your home away from home in San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 598 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's like coming home every time. Spectacular mattresses, terrific bedding, great breakfast in the mornings, wonderful opportunities to meet people from all over and just the best time sitting and chatting with Ann. This B&B is right in the heart of the Hillcrest district with its many spectacular restaurants and night spots. You cannot go wrong with staying there nor with all the recommendations Ann has for restaurants and things to do and see. Can't get this at The Hyatt or The Marriott!

Room Tip: They are all great. BUT, if you are two couples travelling together, or a couple and a single trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftlphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

A Repeat Guest is my greatest compliment. Thank you so much for your continued business. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one week at Hillcrest.
The house is very convenient to an excellent choice of
restaurants, close to bus lines, and on a quiet street.
Ann, the owner, was very helpful with information about
the area and how to use the transit system. Hillcrest is
a most pleasant place to stay and we recommend it
highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriviaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This B & B is located at one end of the Hillcrest neighborhood, a "gay" area which has the greatest conglomeration of restaurants and services that we've ever seen. This, not the downtown Gaslamp district, is where San Diegans in-the-know do their dining-out. Our room in the back-cottage was spotless, the wi-fi was excellent, and the air-conditioning was the best we've seen anywhere - efficient and quiet. And here we come to why we gave the place only 4 stars: If you like cool air at night, then you have to use the whisper-quiet air-conditioning or the ceiling fan, because if you open the windows for cool night-time ventilation, you are roused early in the morning by the noise from the local junior school, and at night you hear sirens from the large hospital complex nearby! Closing the windows does solve these problems though.

The location could not be better for short strolls to nearby restaurants and supermarkets. We highly recommend Project Pie with their design-your-own thin-crust pizzas (try a sauceless "white" pizza!) as well as Khyber Pass for Afghan food (superb cherries-chicken and baked squash). "Snooze" nearby has great coffee and late breakfasts. There's also a crepe place with a plethora of gelatos. We also recommend Darband, a drive away on Fifth Street, with their informal atmosphere and rib-sticking value-for-money Persian food. These are just a few of the many nearby food attractions which, above all else, make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my husband and I first time in San Diego, and the Hillcrest B&B didn't disappoint. The house is located in one of the best neighborhoods of San Diego. Close to restaurants, shops, and, very important, to the Zoo and Balboa Park. We didn't have the pleasure to meet the owner, but we wanted to thank her because she has a very cute place and the innkeepers are great.
We totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARJ-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Hillcrest House B&B, it is in the perfect location surrounded by great restaurants. If you enjoy walking, its' proximity to the Gas Lamp district, Old town, and little Italy, make it a great choice.
The rooms are comfortable and super clean, and our hostess was very helpful to give us directions, info and suggestions for our visit to the area. We will definately go back again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Elainehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We attended an annual meditation retreat in San Diego and returned to Hillcrest House. The serenity of the retreat program was continued at this welcoming B&B. Thanks again, Ann, for your tremendous hospitality and loving care.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntoyota0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you Neil for your return visit. It amazes me, that I see or take a reservation each week from a repeat guest. And now... you are in "The Club" !!!! Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,942 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,056 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Found Hotel San Diego
#5 of 33 in San Diego
722 reviews
Old Town
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#4 of 33 in San Diego
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing