We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$125
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$140
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
553
42
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
42
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bzoo roomother guestsbalboa parkbalboa roomthe main househome away from homeold townfresh fruitoff street parkingwarm muffinsuniversity aveprivate entrancewithin walking distanceevery morningrestaurant recommendationshard boiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 612 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent four Coranado Room/two in the Balboa Room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were visiting San Diego on our honeymoon and could not have stumbled upon a more perfect getaway. To be completely honest, Hillcrest B&B became a "home-away-from-home" providing both immaculate facilities and warm staff. Ann was fantastic. We woke up every morning to a delicious, portion-perfect breakfast and the company of our host. Ann knows everything about the area. She was extremely helpful and happy to point us in the right direction.
We left San Diego as friends and wishing for a longer stay. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Balboa Room and enjoyed our time. Ann is a delightful hostess with a wealth of knowledge about the area and will help with directions and insights into the attractions. The bed was the most comfortble we have splept on during our trip. The location is great, close to the airport, zoo, freeways, etc. The informal breakfast was great - we were able to eat when we wanted and the assortment of fruit and muffins was a nice change to a heavy breakfast. We were glad to see the fruit was not overloaded with melon - mostly strawberries, blueberries, pinapple, etc. We would stay there again - and it seems that Ann has many repeat visitors, the sure sign of a delightful stay.

Room Tip: The adjacent cottage was quiet and close to the parking in the rear of the B&B.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I look forward to celebrating our Wedding Anniversary every year in San Diego. And what better way to spend the weekend there is to stay at the Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast. The house is immaculate, rooms are very very clean and beautiful and Ann is just the best, she's like an old friend you haven't seen in a year! Ha. What a pleasent person she is, very accomodating. You just can't get better than Ann!
It's in walking distance to downtown Hillcrest with plenty of bookstores, shops and restaurants. If your looking to stay in San Diego don't rent from a Hotel with their cleaning products smelling rooms, elevators, and and jam pack parking area. Stay at the Hillcrest House, you'll feel more relaxed and will have a more pleasant time.

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardS955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We particularly loved the neighborhood, ease of getting around and wonderful restaurants nearby. Our hostess, Ann, was gracious and provided some well-appreciated restaurant suggestions. Our room was small but adequate for two people, very clean, with lots of character befitting a craftsman style bungalow. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The place is outstanding. Ann makes whatever is possible as the guest can feel like home. Is an unsual experience to be hosted like you're really a guess in a friend's house. The accomodations are good, and the breakfast, awesome. Is a place to feel home, even away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews