We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Island Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Inn
Save
You added Island Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #187 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel in itself is not magnificent, but given the price and location, it is a great value. It is a clean basic extended stay place for students, and young professionals who do not want to pay daily 200-300 bucks but still want to enjoy the proximity to san diego downtown, historic gaslamp district, and the train station. Note that if you are a "light" sleeper, you should not rent here because it is really close to the train station and you will hear the beeping all night long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malak_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Good hotel, much cleaner than hotels in the surrounding area. Lots of space in the room. Prices were low around $80-90. Staff was very nice and very helpful.

Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KSKInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I was in Island Inn San Diego from 27 march until 04 april for a Congress in Grant Hyatt only four blocks far. The localition is wonderful: next the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter where was bars and restaurants(is possible to go by foot!). Therei 's a a large supermarket (Ralph's) two blocks far.The roorm is ok, large and clean. There was wi-fi free and one computer with intenet conetion use free in hall. The staff is kind, especialy ERIC, a very good guy!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSDSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
153 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Having stayed seven times at the J Street Inn one block down (see those reviews, too) , I decided to try the Island: It's even better!
For the unbelievable weekly rate of $299, this place is equal to any Comfort or La Quinta Inn, right in the Gaslamp area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in and out are a breeze. The streets around the Inn are quiet, but you are minutes walking from all the restaurants, trams, and major bus lines.

My room was large, very quiet (good windows and walls), the bed was comfortable, and bath fine. There is a table, small fridge, microwave, and kitchen sink. Unlike the J St., the bathroom has a sink as well. The shower was great, with lots of hot water.

  • Liked — Incredible price, location, and comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

I was attending a conference at the conveniton center and was looking for an inexpensive hotel close by. I was very happy to stumble across the Island Inn which isn't really a hotel but a type of short to long-term housing unit. They do rent out rooms by the week for tourists and the price could not be beat. The room was clean, but very basic. There was a fridge, microwave, and a basic bed. The location was phonominal, we were only a three minute walk from the convention center or the trolley. The location was very safe and the tenants in the Inn were quiet and kept to themselves. I am a light sleeper, and I did hear the sounds of someone walking on the floor above me but not for too long and I was able to sleep fairly well each night. The staff were pleasant but one clerk, Chris was outstanding. He helped us with each and every request quickly, and with such kindness. We asked for extra pillows, needed directions to the local grocery store, and had questions about laundry and trolley stops. Chris went the extra mile with every request we had. The Island Inn does have a non-air-conditioned small fitness room, a small library, and an inexpensive laundry room. If you are not looking for frills or up-to-date rooms, in other words, if you don't mind basic living conditions, you will love the Island Inn. I saved so much money, I was able to shop, shop, shop!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank CathyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I really can't fault this place. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 weeks in February. We had had a bad experience elsewhere and just happened to come by the Island Inn by chance, but we were so glad we did! It was so affordable - it worked out to be $40 p/n plus tax for the whole room (we were paying $70 for a hostel with shared facilities!) The room was spacious with a private bathroom and kitchenette. It was extremely clean. It is more like a live-in temporary accommodation for most people therefore it was very quiet. The area was fantastic! Not on the 'strip' of the gas lamp area so it wasn't noisy, but the main street was right round the corner. You also have use of a private gym, and library. There's always someone on the front desk so you feel very secure. The only downside is it only has a microwave, no oven. But there is a fridge and toaster! Need to have your own plates and cutlery as well.


The owner has 2 other properties - J street is also very nice, although I didn't stay there, but the other one which I can't remember the name of was awful in an awful area.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — No oven
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Dunroamin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#52 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
California Suites Hotel
#226 of 282 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 202 Island Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6826
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Number of rooms: 331

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing