We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”

Encore Champagne Bar & Dining Room
Price range: $25 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Description: A champagne-centric venue in the heart of the Gaslamp, the Encore Champagne Bar & Dining Room features an extensive selection of champagnes, sparkling wines and craft cocktails & beers. The San Diego-fresh menu of fizz-friendly dishes is inspired by French and Mediterranean cuisines includes shared plates, oysters & caviar. The decor evokes a feminine ambiance with a masculine edge. Two distinctive rooms, Encore Act I & II, offer different atmospheres for dining & drinking and fun & enjoyment.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
316 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

First of all, The host outside rocks. He was very cool. The service was ok. They messed up our order. They pair up every meal with Champagne. Thats a great idea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadro2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat before a concert”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a restaurant near the Balboa Theater that served light dinners. Encore Champagne Bar was perfect. Their champagne list was extensive enough that you could pick a very good inexpensive champagne or a great but expensive champagne. There are dishes which could be shared. We loved the clams with homemade sausage. My husband enjoyed his hamburger. I loved the duck confit risotto. We also shared the hazelnut pot of creme topped with chocolate. We definitely will return the next time we go to the theater downtown.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and A Good Selection of Wines and Sparkling Wine”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a wonderful brunch at the Encore Champagne Bar & Dining Room. We passed on the bottomless Mimosa and went for a bottle of Prosecco that was excellent. The Duck Hash was very tasty as was the Monte Cristo sandwich.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location, but a bit "clubby" for brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This felt like more of a dance club than a brunch spot. We sat on the patio outside but could hear the club music from inside the entire time. The food was pretty good and the mimosas were good, but I had a better brunch experience at Café 21. Nothing particularly wrong with this place, just wasn't my favourite in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice first meal in SD”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Wanted something light and fun after arriving in SD late in the afternoon.
Champagne and several small plates were perfect.
Many choices of bubbly, by the bottle or glass.
Wide variety of small plates, in addition to full entrees.
Can eat indoors or out.
Good service. Waiter could have known more about the wines.
Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMJ475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encore Champagne Bar & Dining Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing