We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban Boutique Hotel
Ranked #72 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super little hotel”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is right in Little Italy which has some great bars and restaurants (recommend the Devanti Enoteca round the corner for Italian food). It's a short stroll to the tram which will take you up to the Old Town, or down to the Gas Lamp quarter. Cabs back from the Gas Lamp are $10 or you could walk it in about 20 minutes. It's also close to the Maritime museum.

The room itself was nice and big, the bed was small by American standards but even so we slept comfortably as a couple. After reading reviews on here i asked for a quiet room to try and avoid the church bells, but you could still here them. It wasn't actually that bad, it only goes off for a few seconds on the hour from 7am.

The service here was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit, granola, yoghurts, toast and jams.

There's no parking but there is a public car park on the corner that you can use, it's $12 for 12 hours or $30 for 24. We got a fine as our 12 hours expired when we were out and forgot about it.

The not so great part - loud housekeeping first thing in the morning. We had to ask them to be quiet. Also the air con was incredibly loud so you can't sleep with it on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 953AlexC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for such a nice detailed review. It sounds like you really had a good time. I am going to speak with the housekeeping staff about the early morning chatting in the hallways. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    237
    81
    29
    18
See reviews for
65
296
77
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Ignore the reviews of others the room looks like a dirty dorm rooms. When I went downstairs to talk to the front desk Nadine said they were sold out so they would not refund my room which we booked through expedia. I told her the room and bed were dirty and smelt she said maybe the GM would be in tomorrow but her policy is she would not refund me. She also informed me no management but her was working. In hospitality the customer should be right if your trying to shove someone in a dirty place you should not be in business. Horrible staff and dirty end of story, you get what you pay for spend the extra money to stay somewhere clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We try very hard to make everyone's stay a good one. We did have housekeeping double check your room after your complaint and we found the room to be clean. Again, we apologize we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is in a great location right next to the maritime museum and US Midway. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. There is also a nice breakfast offering. The negative points were - The fridge can be a little noisy and you can't unplug it and we were woken at 7:30 by cleaning staff having a loud conversation in the corridor which has no carpet so the acoustics are not favourable. That said, I would stay here again and recommend it. Oh and a great little farmers market right outside on Saturdays!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Declan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your business. It sounds like you had a great time. We are working on those noisy housekeepers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 5 nights. Rooms are small as other reviewers have said. But the room was clean and comfortable. Furnishings are simple but updated. Great location with at least 20 restaurants within blocks. $10 cab ride from airport. Super friendly front desk staff. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpatrick2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much. We love return guests. Book directly with us next time and save more. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a small hotel in central San Diego. Staff are helpful and friendly. Hotel and rooms are clean, comfortable and aircon works fine. I had a standard room which was fine but some people may find them small (by American standards) and double beds are not huge. Nevertheless it was quiet and has everything you need. I particularly liked the tube of toothpaste supplied.
WiFi is free and very fast. Hot and cold beverages are free and on tap 24 hours and breakfast buffet is of good quality and plentiful.
You can hire bikes for $10. The tram station is a 7 minute walk away with the waterfront about 10 minutes away. RC Church opposite and on saturday mornings there is a great farmers market outside.
On international standards I would rate this ** but obviously room rates are good value and given its size etc this is a good hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
What a nice and detailed review. We know you have many choices and we appreciate that you picked our hotel and afterward wrote us such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a solid pick for someone who plans on spending very little time in their hotel, and is just looking for a cheap, clean place to crash at night. The hotel's best feature is undoubtedly it's location - located right in the heart of Little Italy, it's surrounded by bars and restaurants, and is in walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are pretty clean and the staff is friendly, but be advised that this hotel is no-frills. The rooms and bathrooms are very small, the beds are small and our mattress felt pretty old, and as others have noted, the walls are thin.

Also want to point out that parking can be difficult/expensive, especially on the weekends. Many of the surrounding streets have limited parking hours during the day, and are closed on Saturdays for a recurring farmer's market. There is a pay lot across the street, but weekend rates are pretty expensive ($22/12 hours).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, Public Relations Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you had a great time while in San Diego. i wanted to let you know that you were in one of five rooms with older mattresses and we just ordered those 5 beds. The entire hotel will now have new beds. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, The staff at Urban Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

PROS:
Free wifi, ok breakfast.

CONS:
Not the most friendly staff, noisy street plus near church bells, small breakfast room (only 2 bar tables), no parking option, extremely small room (can barely walk around-good for 1 person), very small and uncomfortable bed almost impossible to sleep in if you are 2, shower curtain has black mold everywhere and it smells like it in the whole room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chryscanariona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankf541, General Manager at Urban Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am surprised that you found our staff unfriendly. We are well known for our customer service. I will get with housekeeping to double check all shower curtains. I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Pensione
#113 of 279 in San Diego
539 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
533 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Boutique Hotel

Property: Urban Boutique Hotel
Address: 1654 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2502 (Formerly Hotel Contessa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Little Italy area of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Urban Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing