We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and comfortable!”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #7 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly and comfortable!”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

As a solo traveler, the quality of a hotel is very important to me. This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location, the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. This is what you think old California must have been like. I expected to see the Beach Boys at any time. Great sunsets, beautiful beach and lots of surfers. The hotel is well managed, the staff was exceptional and the vibe is very laid back. I was comfortable and felt secure at all times. The room was upscale beach house, furnished very nicely with a small bathroom and a great tub.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24shoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    191
    48
    17
    14
See reviews for
225
391
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed in the "Sanctuary Suite," which was expensive, but fantastic. The room is huge, the jacuzzi in the room is deep and fills from a stream of water that comes out of the ceiling. They really went out of their way to send guys up to bring a DVD player that would work so I could play a slideshow I'd put together for my husband as a surprise (the Xbox they'd put in the room for me wouldn't play it).

The ocean view is beautiful, and the restaurant downstairs is exceptional! The only negative is that for a while we could hear a crying baby next door. Otherwise a perfect romantic getaway.

LOVE the sundeck with big couches, where we drank our own wine (saving $), and hung out in the sun in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Great customer service at front desk and throughout the Hotel. Elizabeth H. went above and beyond providing information on their killer lights. Loved our oceanfront room and Oysters at the bar. We will be returning next year and look forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekhula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I am a frequent traveler both for business and pleasure and the ocean front room at Tower 23 was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. I frequently stay at the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons so my standards and expectations are very high and I have to say that this hotel blew me away. First off, the ocean front rooms are only about 50 feet from the beach with direct views of the ocean with a front row seat to spectacular sunsets every night. The rooms have balconies that allow you to sip a nice glass of wine, read a magazine, and be treated to one of the best hotel views I have ever experienced.
The decor of the room is fantastic too. It's modern, clean and stocked with a great mini bar, flat screen t.v. high end bath products, and a very comfortable bed. The hotel itself is small and there's no pool, but there is a super nice deck with lounge chairs, comfy sofas, fountains, and a fire pit. The restaurant and bar serve great food and the room service was divine: ahi tuna, grilled octopus, and oysters. This hotel is an absolute gem. I'd stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelseaguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We were on a big US road trip and went to PB in SD for sone 'down-time'. Unfortunately, despite it being September, we got rubbsh weather so being at this hotel was great. T23 is the best hotel in the PB area I'm sure of that. The restaurant is good - they do 1/2 price bottles of wine on a Tuesday which is worth taking advantage of -- and the rooms are so comfy. The beds are ridiculously comfortable. There is no pool - but you have the sea at arms length if you re feeling ballsy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We just left Tower 23 this morning. We had a wonderful time on the beach and were looking forward to our 1st stay at the hotel. Check-in was great. We arrived early and they held our bags and called us when our room was available. We were in a Surf Pad on the 3rd floor rm. 321. Room was nice, but much of our view was obstructed with a palm tree. We were never able to get the internet to work, called the front desk, said they would look into the problem, but never did. Also called to see if they could send up a small mirror and was told she would try to locate one, again no phone call. Made reservations for JRDN to sit on the patio. When we arrived we were told that it would not be possible because they had large parties out there already. Just not what I expected from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PackGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are always striving to improve our relationship with our guests and your feedback is invaluable. I sincerely apologize that your concerns were not handled in a more timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport Ct
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We loved the clean lines and contemporary decor of this hotel and our Surf Pad room with a view of the ocean fulfilled our expectations! Bathroom was roomy enough and the housekeeping staff were helpful, prompt and friendly. Front desk staff were all very nice and the hotels restaurant was wonderful!! Breakfast and dinner we enjoyed both!
Valet parking, $20.00 a day and the convenience to the beach was exactly what we wanted.
Setting is surrounded by typical surf shops/burrito joints etc.
DON"T recommend the tiny burrito drive thru/walk up stand across from the hotel parking lot .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HershieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing