We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Tower 23 is perfectly situated at Pacific Beach. The view from the sundeck and the hotel restaurant is amazing, and you will never get tired of watching the beach and the boardwalk.
Rooms are nice and bright, try get a room facing the beach or the street instead of the sundeck (otherwise not much privacy). The onsite restaurant/bar is quite noisy due to the number of people visiting, but the rooms are actually pretty soundproof when closing the balcony doors. It would have been nice though being able to sleep to the sound of the waves, but the restaurant simply is far too popular. If you don’t want to make use of the hotel restaurant, there are several fine restaurants within easy walking distance.
We received fantastic service from all employees. It is rare to find so friendly and informative valet parking, and also the concierge was fantastic.
Pacific Beach is a great place to stay when in San Diego, and Tower 23 in particular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mollerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Tower23 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 935 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

After travelling for 2 weeks down the west coast this was just what we needed for a few days relaxing! Fantastic hotel looking right over the beach. Staff very efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were a great size and very modern. Can"t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try and get ocean front room. What a view!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesUkJodiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We came to San Diego for three nights and stayed one night at Tower23 and two at Pacific Terrace. The two hotels are very close to each other. Both have lots of surfing at the beach in front of them. Both are very nice. But there are lots of differences too. Tower23 has a great restaurant, a great breakfast, and a great happy hour. On Wednesday nights they have a $20 wine special where a winery comes to do a wine tasting on the terrace overlooking the ocean. We met lots of locals that attend this event every week. The restaurant was very good with a beautiful view, good food, and good service. I loved their breakfast options, but they don't start serving breakfast until 9:00. The room was small, but nice. We had an ocean room view on the third floor and it was lovely! If I had brought my kids, I would have preferred Pacific Terrace, but I think as a couples' trip, Tower23 is better because of the restaurant, happy hour, and nightlife. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Tower23.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FW_Homeschool_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed Tower23's sophisticated restaurant and nightlife. Our weekly summer beverage series is always a big hit and a great way to discover a favorite new winery.

Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Being a San Diego native and also being in real estate I have seen and been to most every hotel in San Diego. I personally go to this hotel lobby and rooftop twice a month if not more. This is my favorite hotel with a view. The staff Ivan, Chi and Lacey (the main employees that I have personally been helped by upstairs) are of top quality. Always attentive and friendly never a bad experience.
Oh and obviously the food is great too =)

Stayed: May 2014
Thank karissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, and the staff was very excited and helpful with wedding things. This hotel is very nice looking, very modern, with a beautiful patio area and nighttime bonfire. Great view of the sea from some rooms. One particularly helpful person was Omar. He saw that my hands were full and I couldn't get to my key right away, and he offered to open the door to my room for me. Later, he brought up our room service quickly when they knew we were in a hurry. Definitely great service all around. I especially like the proximity to great food and shopping, and of course, the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure there's a definite ocean view. Some balconies overlook the patio, and you can see the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location. Impressive bar, restaurant, view, and hotel all in one. Located in a very walkable part of Pacific Beach. Super relaxing venue and a nice guest only balcony above a trendy bar and restaurant with tasty food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Truly great accommodations, helpful staff, beach access, people watching, and easy walking to great bars and eateries. A bit pricey yes but honestly, treat your gang to this, both young and old alike will love it.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank heinz g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for choosing Tower23! So glad to hear you enjoyed our beachfront location and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $246 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing