We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent accommodations and unrivaled service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tower23 Hotel to your Saves list
Tower23 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and unrivaled service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at Tower 23 was amazing, from the minute we pulled our car into the valet through checkout. Everyone of the staff was kind, helpful and made us feel welcome. Joel at the concierge desk was extremely helpful. We arrived very early so we put our luggage in the closet and went for a bike rude down the boardwalk (free rental from the hotel). When we checked in, welcome cocktails were quickly brought to our room along with our luggage. The room was immaculate, clean and modern, with comfy bathrobes waiting in the bathroom. We rented the Sky pad, which offers a full ocean view and a balcony, so we watched the sunset each night from there. The deck is a great place to relax and watch the ocean waves too, and Zach will be there to take care of you. We had room service the first night (Zach brought that too!), and the food was so yummy, we ate in the restaurant the following night (JRDN restaurant). The food and service again did not disappoint. They have a salad where you select the greens, dressing and 5 items, very cool. The steak was perfection and we really lucked out with Tues night being 50% off bottles of wine. The beach is wide and open and there are many of other places nearby to shop and dine. Be sure to stop by the Baked Bear for ice cream or cookies. I travel frequently and have NEVER been treated so well throughout my stay, and everything that was promised was delivered. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I recommend paying the extra money for the sky pad (ocean view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LASCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    167
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
178
332
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very modern, clean, upscale. Nicely down. My room was facing the beach...very nice!! Great sunsets! One small downside...I was on the third floor right above the restaurant...if I left the door open to enjoy the Pacific breezes I heard every conversation (on every subject :)). Quieted down later, so no big deal. Not sure what it would be like on a Friday or Saturday night...
Would definitely recommend if you want to be on the beach!! You can walk along the beach or the paved path that parallels the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjk1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We like to visit the lounge area for appetizers that are reasonably priced and delicious. On our visit today I was impressed with the attentiveness of Juan, the floor supervisor. Our waitress seemed busy and as I looked around to locate her to make a request, Juan noticed and immediately offered assistance. He did this a few times and I felt he was our server. His eyes were always 360 observing the crowd and quickly noting the needs of guests and his personnel. As an experienced Hospitality Professional managing several departments in hotels, I notice superior customer service and feel comfortable returning to Tower 23 knowing that the service and cuisine will remain consistent as long as they continue to employ individuals like Juan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandyFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. Brilliant location, friendly staff, smart contemporary decor, great concierge, really good in hotel dining options, lively bar, fabulous sea views, free bike hire, free coffee in reception every morning, great glass-walled sun deck overlooking the boardwalk for sunbathing and people watching by day, firepit and comfy outdoor sofas for lounging by night. One of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Will visit again next time I'm in San Diego.
Only down sides - no pool but it's a stone's throw to the sea so that isn't really a problem and no on-site gym although there is access to a local one.

Room Tip: We payed a little more to upgrade to a Surf Pad which was right on the front of the hotel overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallitzin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel on pacific beach was fabulous. Everyone was helpful, especially Zach! The location was perfect. The housekeeping staff was great as well. I can't say one bad thing about the place. We had a partial ocean view but the view was breathtaking right off of our balcony. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandir29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On the boardwalk in Pacific Beach, this glass-sided building is refreshingly lovely. Bedrooms are stark white and minimalist. Suites have whirlpool baths and all guests have access to an ocean-facing roof lounge. Downstairs, is a buzzing bar lounge and first-rate JRDN restaurant, which specializes in seafood and mouthwatering steaks. For breakfast Mama's French toast is delicious. The liveliest place to drink is the rooftop bar, which comes with an incredible view, fire pits, beautiful people and water displays.

This hotel is spotless and suitable for older people as well as the young.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. Inside, the rooms were sound proof despite the younger crowd enjoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank su Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location if you love the beach and want to veg out in style. From fish tacos to fine dining Tower 23 and immediate area is superb. Jackie at the concierge desk was beyond helpful for tips about the Mission Beach area. Bikes, towels, beach chairs, all readily available at n/c. Even the window washer was great! The hotel is a little pricey...BUT...if you want to impress your gal or guy book it. Will definitely be back...ps easy to get around on public transportation from here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing