We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart little boutique hotel right on the beach”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #7 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Smart little boutique hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. Brilliant location, friendly staff, smart contemporary decor, great concierge, really good in hotel dining options, lively bar, fabulous sea views, free bike hire, free coffee in reception every morning, great glass-walled sun deck overlooking the boardwalk for sunbathing and people watching by day, firepit and comfy outdoor sofas for lounging by night. One of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Will visit again next time I'm in San Diego.
Only down sides - no pool but it's a stone's throw to the sea so that isn't really a problem and no on-site gym although there is access to a local one.

Room Tip: We payed a little more to upgrade to a Surf Pad which was right on the front of the hotel overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    185
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
217
377
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gallitzin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel on pacific beach was fabulous. Everyone was helpful, especially Zach! The location was perfect. The housekeeping staff was great as well. I can't say one bad thing about the place. We had a partial ocean view but the view was breathtaking right off of our balcony. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandir29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

On the boardwalk in Pacific Beach, this glass-sided building is refreshingly lovely. Bedrooms are stark white and minimalist. Suites have whirlpool baths and all guests have access to an ocean-facing roof lounge. Downstairs, is a buzzing bar lounge and first-rate JRDN restaurant, which specializes in seafood and mouthwatering steaks. For breakfast Mama's French toast is delicious. The liveliest place to drink is the rooftop bar, which comes with an incredible view, fire pits, beautiful people and water displays.

This hotel is spotless and suitable for older people as well as the young.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. Inside, the rooms were sound proof despite the younger crowd enjoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank su Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location if you love the beach and want to veg out in style. From fish tacos to fine dining Tower 23 and immediate area is superb. Jackie at the concierge desk was beyond helpful for tips about the Mission Beach area. Bikes, towels, beach chairs, all readily available at n/c. Even the window washer was great! The hotel is a little pricey...BUT...if you want to impress your gal or guy book it. Will definitely be back...ps easy to get around on public transportation from here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights here for our first wedding anniversary. Coming from Las Vegas, the hospitality and "flashy room" capital of the World -- this quaint, yet chic establishment is a welcome mix of trendy and tranquility. From our moment of arrival to our moment of departure, Tower 23 was an absolute joy to experience!!

The entire staff (from front desk to service to maintenance) was genuinely friendly and approachable. Our suite was immaculate and even our "partial view" accommodation offered a stunning view of the ocean and sun deck. The food was delectable and features a popular bar and JRDN's menu offers a great variety with the impeccable quality of a 5 star restaurant (our server was Awesome). Watching the sunset, in a chaise lounge, mai tai in hand from the 2nd level deck is an absolute MUST.

Concierge, Daniel went completely above and beyond his call of duty to add special touches for the anniversary surprises which my husband had planned (and some were tricky!). Tower 23 has the absolute best location- steps from Pacific Beach boardwalk, as well as fun walking distance shops and local bars. Again, being Vegas locals...we've seen every over-the-top-shiny-glitzy hotel experience anyone could imagine -- but Tower 23 was a very pleasant surprise in comfort, quality, luxury and relaxation -- not to mention the 24-hour lull of ocean waves as a constant background soundtrack?? Very chic. Very cool.

Absolutely no complaints whatsoever :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showgirlkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your memories and wonderful photos! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. San Diego is definitely a whole different world compare to Las Vegas, however we offer that relaxing beach vibe that you can't quite find in Vegas.

We will be sure to recognize Daniel on his hard work and assisting you in creating a memorable experience for your first anniversary. We hope to have you back with us to share your second anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Should have stayed here for 2 nights but only had one due to a missed flight connection in Chicago. Arrived early morning and was able to access my room straight away. Offered a complimentary rum punch which was very welcome (it was 5pm somewhere in the world). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is superb with the beach just yards away.
The room was very well appointed ( except for a bedside light that I have to get out of bed to switch off).
The restaurant and bar were good with reasonable prices. Service was friendly and prompt.
The only downside was the price I paid for the room. It was expensive but on my arrival in San Diego I found that it was the Comic Con event so I expect the prices were hiked up.
I would stay here again but not when there is a major event in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeet4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed in Tower 23 for 3 nights in surf pad rooms. The view is amazing and to hear the sound of the waves is so relaxing. Staff is nice service is great. Nothing to complain about. Tried the hotel restaurant which is pleasant and always crowded. We did celebrate my husband's birthday and the waitress was very helpful. Valet parking little pricey but effective and practical so go for it! You can have breakfast at the hotel or better at a small cafe "kono" for the vibe. My teen daughters took bicycles from the hotel for a quick ride on the boardwalk. Great experience in San Diego

Room Tip: Choose the surf pad rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing