We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern contemporary hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern contemporary hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

First time coming down to San Diego and decided to book a hotel right on the beach to have a romantic getaway with the lady. Picked this hotel over others on the beach due to the modern rooms, excellent hospitality provided by the staff, and the location on the boardwalk. Prices can be a bit pricey but highly recommended for couples.

As I checked in I was greeted by the valet for parking. Was offered baggage service for my bags which someone quickly came and grabbed my bags. As I checked in I was told that my Surf Pad room that i book was under maintenance and was upgraded to a Sweet Suite for free. All I can say about that room it was sure SWEET and lives up to its name. For those that have the cash to splurge go for it you won't regret it. I was also offered complimentary cocktails. This hotel definitely rolls out all the stops and great customer service. Also used the offer on Tripadvisor for free valet parking and accepted it happily.

The room itself was on the 3rd floor but as other reviewers have mentioned it can get noise if you leave your sliding window door to the patio open. Once it was closed it was relatively quiet. Do checkout the 2nd floor observation deck/patio to view the nice sunset while relaxing under the warm heat lamps.

Will definitely be coming back for another romantic getaway again. Thank you Tower23 and its staff for the hospitality and providing a romantic environment.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet room. Request third floor and away from restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jinx626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    177
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
196
359
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a great view but it was pricey. I would recommend this hotel for young couples. It's in a great location it's just not very kid friendly and you pay top dollar for everything. It kind of party central and loud at night and the room we had the bathroom door was a sliding door with frosted glass. So you could hear everything and see everything whenever you used the bathroom. It wasnt very practical in the middle of the night especially with kids. Otherwise the employees were very nice and the location was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel in Pacific Beach. In the past, we have stayed at La Jolla Beach and Tennis, Sea Lodge and Pacific Terrace. There is no pool and I thought that would be a problem, but it was not. My husband and older teens stayed at the beach all day and boogie boarded in great waves. While I normally do as well, this time I preferred to sit in the inner upstairs private courtyard with a splendid view of the ocean while enjoying drink and food service and shade, I was so comfortable. I have never seen a set up like this before - my patio door opened out to the communal courtyard. It worked and more hotels should do this. This is a small property but the beach is the feature. We don't drink but the bar downstairs was happening daily.
The food at the restaurant downstairs was amazing.
Grab a bike and you can bike down the boardwalk, to the shopping/restaurants down the street, or basically anywhere. Take a taxi to this hotel and ride a bike - you may not need a car.
We went before the summer crowds so we will have to see how it is when we return in summer. Overall, we had a great time and would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Do you like nice things and perfect location?

Stay here.

Beautiful view, great amenities and friendly staff. Had the opportunity to stay here after a few days of being downtown and will always stay in PB from now on.

Kate took care of us very well and we'll gladly come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The room was huge (for a boutique hotel) and the balcony was spacious. Very clean & centrally located in Pacific Beach. The stairs to the beach are right across from the hotel & there are a ton of bars & restaurants in walking distance.

My only complaint is that I thought there was more of a pool based on the pictures from the website. I know, I know you're on the ocean so why would you need a pool?! Well the ocean was 65 degrees so ya... But other than that, this hotel was so great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Callie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful and perfectly located boutique hotel.
We stayed 4 nights and will definitely be returning again.
Pros: Clean, Accommodating and Attentive Staff, Convenient Valet, Excellent Restaurant and Bar, Decent-sized Room, Good Room Service, Excellent Location, Amazing Views, Excellent People-watching entertainment.
Cons: Our room was on the 2nd Floor directly above the bar and it is loud. If we were in bed before the bar closed, we were unable to open the slider until well after the bar closed. (10pm weekdays, 12am weekends). Kinda bummed there was no pool. However, this will not keep us from coming back!
FYI - Pacific Beach is BUSY, BUSY, BUSY. So much to see and do.

Room Tip: Room 205 is directly above the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWinSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I found this hotel by looking in TripAdvisor and I am glad I did! It was such a great find! This boutique hotel was very chic and right on the beach. The rooms was clean and modern. We had a balcony which was nice to eat breakfast in the morning (the room service breakfast was good and reasonably priced). The outdoor area was a nice place to lounge in the evening. We were pleasantly surprised that the restaurant JRDN was AMAZING! The service was above average. I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarissaBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#24 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing