We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Tower23 is the best hotel in Pacific Beach - for a reason. The 44 rooms are top notch modern, feature an AWESOME bed (by far the best we had in the US) and make you feel at home, all directly on the beach. We had a Skypad room that was among the best of rooms on our trip. Housekeeping and quality of rooms & facilities was outstanding.
Plenty of dining & drinking options nearby (on the beach, Garnet Ave). La Jolla Cove is just a short drive away. The terrace of Tower23 is second to none and has stunning views of the ocean and the pier nearby. Pretty much because everything is so good the rather poor quality of service is a major blow. While there have been gems among the staff, our overall impression was that the service does not live up to the promise of the hotel. A non-working keycard resulted in major distractions of the front office staff, waiters at the deck/terrace were hardly attentive, no help with the luggage offered upon arrival, no valet anymore after 12am, etc. The service drawback is especially sad as the hotel & location & facilities are so beautiful! However, I would go to Tower23 again anytime still & we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    171
    40
    15
    12
See reviews for
189
341
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tower 23. The location is great, right next to the Crystal Pier. We had the full oceanview room 321 and were treated to a very nice sunset every evening. The staff was very friendly and eager to do anything we asked. JRDN is a very pricey restaurant, but not unreasonable considering the excellent quality of their food. The bar is a monster hotspot for the thirty-something crowd every evening. If you're traveling on a budget, there are several restaurants and pubs nearby, including a Kono's and a Denny's just across the street for breakfast. We especially enjoyed The Green Flash which is a Key West style seafood restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for the south wing (San Diego side) if you want to get away from the noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAJumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We transferred up here from the downtown Sheraton for the last few days of a trip and we wished we'd come earlier. We paid the same price as at the Sheraton but this was so much better - calm, comfortable, everything tasteful, everything easy, no hassle. We positively looked forward to getting back to our room and our balcony, it was such a great environment and so relaxing. This stretch of Pacific Beach is very beautiful, with plenty of people to look at and plenty of beach front bars and eateries. Service in the hotel was impeccable, from the cheery bellboy to the car valets and the front desk staff, who gave us better tips than the ill-informed official concierge service at the Sheraton (thanks so much to the lady who recommended Cafe 976, an idyll up the road!). The food is good but I would stick to the smaller plates you can get on the superb outside decking - the restaurant is perhaps a little overpriced for what it delivers (we only ate there once and didn't go back). Overall, a great experience, which is very rare for us on our travels through the hotels of the world!

Room Tip: Probably third floor is better to avoid bar and restaurant noise; we had a surf pad with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HassledLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Modern sea front hotel in Pacific Beach, San Diego. Large rooms, comfortable beds, stunning water front location, good aircon, ten blocks from I-5. Fifteen minutes to downtown restaurants.

Pros - A stylish oasis in Pacific Beach. Amazing position right on the water. Rooms large, well sound proofed ( we'd been worried about some of the reviews saying the walls were paper thin ), bright and comfortable. Private balconies great for catching the afternoon rays. We slept with the windows open to the sound of the surf. Think of the Mondrian but on the ocean. Valet parking $20 a day which we thought reasonable.

Cons - Other Trip Advisor reviews have commented on the staff. Some are great others decidedly less so. Ground floor restaurant and bar gets very busy and very noisy . Pacific Beach with its drifters has an edge which some might not like.

Sum up. Get a room on the ocean. It may cost a little more but is well worth it. A bit like the Delano in its early , relatively undiscovered ,South Beach days. As a number of reviews have noted the American women behind the font desk are really helpful, other staff disconcertingly aloof and uninterested. Couldn't work out if it was down to SoCal chill or misplaced pretentiousness. This place would be great if they could get the staff right. Certainly it's a cut above anything else around although if you're older than 35 then La Jolla might be a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront rooms. Why stay on the ocean of you can't get a direct view ? Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to splurge for the first night of our anniversary trip, and I am so happy we did. The hotel is elegant and sophisticated. Excellent: bed, pillows and linens, shower and toiletries. The chairs on the sun deck were perfect- provided a block from the cool ocean breeze and still allowed for a lovely view.
They even brought amazing chocolate covered strawberries to our room as I had mentioned our anniversary!
No coffee in room, but large selection of Kuereg in lobby. Go next door to Kono's for breakfast. Fabulous and super affordable.
Unlikely we will find ourselves in the area again, but if you can do it-- go there!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was about a 20 minute ride from the San Diego Airport. Check-in was prompt and friendly, they sent up welcome cocktails for us. They also had a bottle of champagne in the room for our Anniversary. The location was perfect, within walking distance to restaurants, bars & a grocery store. The view was beautiful. Our room was clean, located on the 2nd floor and opened to a community patio (which we really enjoyed). I imagine some would think this was not private, but we liked it. The size of the patio area was great, it had a fire pit and lounge chairs. There was a wait staff so we were able to order appetizers and drinks as we enjoyed sitting outside. The only 2 drawbacks we encountered was the lack of a swimming pool and paper thin walls between the rooms. We had drinks at the bar/restaurant JRDN which was very nice. You can sit inside or outside. Next door we found a great little place for coffee, usually a long line but it moved fast . We walked to dinner about a block away to Fat Fish Cantina. They have a wonderful Lobster Bisque. There was a lot to do in San Diego, we only had 4 days but went to see the San Diego Zoo, the USS Midway Museum, Gas light district and Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WISassyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tower 23 was an exceptional experience for me and my family. Where do I start? To begin my family and I live in Los Angeles and travel to San Diego a couple times a year to vacation near the beach but this year we decided to try something new and attempt to find a hotel in Pacific Beach during spring break with NO reservations. After two failed attempts to hotels we were familiar with (and we have spent a good deal of time and money at) we decided to try Tower 23. So glad we did. Beautiful location, gorgeous hotel, and attentive staff are good reasons to stay at any hotel but Tower 23 went way beyond that. The young lady at the front desk, Kate, was very patient and considerate of our needs and took so much time with us, even showing us the rooms that were available given the fact it was spring break and she seemed very busy, not to mention everyone was selling out all over the coast. Kate made us feel like the only guest in the hotel and even suggested a few more options for us if their hotel was not the right fit!! Needless to say we were sold and book a room for the week. Throughout our stay we enjoyed the hotel more and more. From beach towels and chairs to the chocolates on our pillows Tower 23 was an experience to remember. Thank you Kate, and the team at Tower 23, my family leaves your hotel with memories that will last a lifetime. You can count on us coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#17 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing