We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, this trendy hotel turned out to be a great place to stay. Our 'Skypad' had a small balcony overlooking the Tower Deck. The room itself is dressed in cools blues and whites and was plenty large. The bathroom has a walk-in shower and the hotel bathrobes were very soft.

Far better than the room and amenities, though, was the location and the vibe. The Tower Deck, where there are chaises and couches, looks directly onto the ocean. Great place to drink coffee and watch surfers in the morning or from which to watch the sunset. On a Friday night, the deck and the downstairs restaurant get busy with the trendy set. He restaurant itself is quite good with an emphasis on seafood.

Finally, the price was reasonable.
Definitely a good place to stay in San Diego

Room Tip: Of course, ask for a view. Also, may want to get a room on the higher level as the boardwalk outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NieSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    183
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
213
376
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel! Good access to walking along the boardwalk or sandy beach. Good access to anyplace in San Diego (rent a car for sure). Wonderful sun deck to sit, have a glass of wine, read a book, and/or watch the setting sun over the Pacific Ocean. Our room was large and comfortable. Only drawback is that the sheets smelled faintly of bleach. Some might find this unoffensive but I dislike the chemical smell so close to my face when I sleep. Otherwise, a highly recommended hotel and location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriends and I planned a weekend away and the Tower23 Hotel was just what the doctor ordered. From the fantastic sun deck, amazing restaurant, perfect in-room spa services, prime beach location, great beds/bedding and friendly staff we had an excellent time! The only thing missing was a pool or hot tub however the ocean is only steps away. Thank You Tower23...we will be sure to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a surf-pad room with two queens and it was perfectly comfortable for the three of us be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Tower23 provided my cousin and I with incredible hospitality, customer care, and impeccable service! What a pleasure staying at Tower23 with exceptionally comfortable beds, pillows, quality bath products, robes and prompt and delightful room service! The bartenders were extremely pleasant, welcoming, and accommodating! We had a few appetizers at the bar which were all very good. The front desk service was also very friendly and knowledgeable! What was most pleasing was the overall pleasant and courteous acknowledgement from the entire staff. Everyone seemed comfortable and actually enjoyed what they did. It is rare to find such comfortable and pleasant accommodations as the Tower23 provides!

Room Tip: Our room looked directly at the ocean, no side view; it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T23Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Tower23 Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for recognizing our staff. We are so glad we were able to share how good life can be at the beach. Hopefully you are able to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Slightly weird that this modern hotel sits in the middle of an older more beachy part of town, it's not classic design just more of an upscale Travelodge but get a room over looking the ocean and it's amazing.
Slide back the huge glass door and listen to the water all night!
There are drug stores with inn walking distance for essentials and a beach we walked for miles on.
Honestly early morning walks along the beach were the best bit!
One big disappointment was no pool or hot tub! I know the beach is just in front of you,but I like a pool!
Get a good price,then this is a modern no frills hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

First of all:thank you to Tripadvisor reviewers who stayed here. This was our first time in San Diego. We stayed one night in San Diego Downtown and wanted a little beach stay before going back to Belgium. It is hard to find a real small scale beach hotel (without cars passing by between the hotel and the beach) with a contemporary design. On top of this a room with a full oceanview: it was a dream.
We stayed two nights: from Sunday till Tuesday. Great sunset on Sunday. So we decided to have dinner in their restaurant. It was fully booked: Why didn't they ask us if we wanted to have dinner when we checked in? We were very disappointed but found a quite good restaurant nearby (Fatfish).
We had dinner at JRDN next evening: it was misty, restaurant was empty but food was outstanding !
We agree that all extras are very expensive. We took a taxi to avoid both parking and rental car costs. We had breakfast at Starbucks. And never opened mini-bar.
Tips: book a full seaview room and avoid extras.

Room Tip: Full ocean view away from restaurant (potential noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosvoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I came across this place quite by accident (we were looking to book at another hotel that had no availability and they recommended this place). I am SO glad that they did! As Hilton Rewards Members we typically stay at Hilton properties, but there was not a Hilton option on this beach so we began our search and ended here. Hotel is very similar to the Hilton in interior design.
The hotel is very swanky and modern. Very clean and posh. The hotel's Jordan restaurant has an excellent menu fit for a foodie and a great happening cool bar scene any night of the week.
Our 2nd floor room was very spacious, very clean and modern and had a private patio that opened to the rooftop patio and gorgeous ocean views. The patio had a great propane fire pit and heaters scattered around (it was needed as it was in the 50s at night) with great seating looking out at the crashing waves.
This is a newer hotel and smaller which is the only reason I think it is not rated much higher on the list for Trip Advisor (not time to build up a lot of reviews maybe?). We have stayed at places on the beach twice this expensive per night and I would pick this place over them any day.
The hotel is only 3 floors with an underground parking garage. I would recommend the 2nd floor rooms with the patios that walk out to the common patio area. It was so great to relax up there. Mix up your own drink in room and head on out. If you prefer there is wait staff that comes up about every 15-20 minutes to serve you drinks and/or dinner. If you park in the garage (valet only) it is a $20 charge per day (typical of anywhere in the area due to limited parking). We stayed 2 nights and never parked in the garage. There is very limited on street parking that you can get and we lucked out. If you park on the same side of the street as the hotel there is free overnight parking. The trick is getting a spot out of the 20 that are available.
This location is also only about 10 minutes from La Jolla beach and is a very pretty drive. Great shopping and scenery at La Jolla Beach and Prospect Street.
Also highly recommend the Isabel Cantina that is a short 2 block walk up from the hotel. You have to look carefully or you will miss it. Sign outside only says Cantina and if cars are parked there it will be blocked. Best breakfast we have ever enjoyed and great service.
We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Your-Supergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing