We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Tower23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tower23 Hotel
Ranked #7 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week. We had very high expectations of this place due to all of the good reviews we read. I must say it lives up to its expectations. Excellent customer service, beautiful rooms, great location. I wish we had upgraded to the surf pad. The views are worth it. The only issue we had was the room above us sounded like they were racing elephants, but luckily that subsided before we got annoyed. The area gets quite busy with tourists so you will hear street noise.

Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the surf pad, pricey but worth it if you are going to stay here anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supertofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    185
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
218
377
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at Tower23 over Easter break. The hotel is ideally located on a beautiful sandy beach and situated between La Jolla and San Diego.
We opted for a 3rd floor room with partial sea view. Rooms are very spacious and clean.
There is a busy beach front restaurant/bar and the hotel is in walking distance of all the local bars/restaurants. This is a young, fun resort and reminded me of Venice Beach, Ca.
The front desk staff (Saray Jimenez and her team) are helpful and obliging.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonluxetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Tower23 opened around six years ago about 10 miles north of San Diego. It's located in Pacific Beach and either you will love the its edgy-funkiness (like Venice, California 20 years ago) or you will wonder what a sexy-cool hotel is doing in a neighborhood like this. If you have a large sense of entitlement, and seeing some grit and edge will just ruin your martini or G and T, do yourself a favor and stay in La Jolla just up the road. In PB, you are far more likely to score a tattoo than a designer boutique.

That said, the hotel is a modern minimalist gem. All glass and white walls. A video loop of surfers plays endlessly on a small monitor the unpretentious lobby. The action here is in the Bar/Restaurant JRDN (pronounced a little surprisingly "Jordan", not "jardin.") Serving mostly very good food and a lively scene, it's particularly packed on weekends when the weather is good. The other great space is the Tower Deck on the second floor where white-towel covered lounge chairs surround something resembling a wading pool. I think it's six inches deep and I have never seen anyone so much as put their foot in there, so, hey, maybe it's just a water element or something. Nomenclature aside, it's a great place for a hang or a tan or to watch the joggers, surfers, runners and homeless people walk, run, or waddle by.

The rooms are clean and uber-minimalist, almost sterile if it were not for the drop-dead views. I recently stayed in a Sanctuary Suite and loved the extra space and the jacuzzi tub looking out over the crashing waves of the Pacific. The bathroom also sports a small sink, a stand-alone shower and small slightly depressing room with a toilet. I am hoping it's fluorescent lighting is a green gesture and not a design choice. Yikes.

Most if not all of the rooms have terraces on which you can see and/or hear the crashing of the Pacific. With "art" like that, who needs art in the rooms?

This is not a place you come for white glove service, but the staff is young, attractive and happy to be helping you in any way they can. They try really hard, but sometimes you can really feel them trying and the strain shows.

Bottom Line: This property is my first choice when I come to San Diego for any reason, business or pleasure. It's perfect for a romantic weekend, or whenever you want to get-away from it all. A recent four-day stay undid months of work/life stress. And if it worked for me, it might just work for you. Give it a try, I don't think you will regret it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to the Sanctuary Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonK_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cday1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 off a deal we got on Bloomspot. The room was very nice and clean and we had a view of the ocean. It's in walking distance to many restaurants and the boardwalk. We sat on the deck on watched a beautiful sunset while having coctails, but never had a chance to eat at the restaurant. I hear it's really good! We would definitely stay here again. It's a very nice boutique hotel! The only reason I do not give it 5 stars is because of the price of parking, but that's a given pretty much in San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed at the Tower last October and coming up on a stay in April. The Surf Pad has an amazing view. The staff will bend over backwards for you. The food is excellant. The location is stunning. This is THE place to take someone special and forget about work, traffic and the hectic life you lead. Just enjoy a drink watching the sun drop beyond the horizon with the pier in view, people watch as they drift by on the sidewalk. A truly amazing package.

Room Tip: The Surf Pad is more money, but worth it. The view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onabeachinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I recently spent five nights at Tower23 on a "girlfriends get away" trip to California. We stayed in a "Sky Pad" with two queen beds. The hotel is very modern with a laid back "beachy" attitude, so if you're looking for traditional or posh/luxury accomodations, this isn't it. The staff at the front desk were friendly, helpful and prompt. We asked them for recommendations on several occassions and their advice was useful.

The good:
The beds/linens/pillows are very comfortable.
Some rooms have direct access from the room to the terrace on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach and boardwalk. It's a great place to people watch, relax and read, or just share a drink while watching the waves.
The location of the hotel is close to restaurants (Kronos is great for breakfast!), bike rentals, and the beach. We didn't need a rental car.

The not-so-good (these are minor in my opinion):
It's a popular spot for going out so the bar is always full--day & night. Fun if that's what you're looking for, but it can be loud and crowded.
We were awakened on two nights by yelling and loud noises from the hall or the terrace. Probably not the fault of the hotel but if you're a light sleeper, you may go home tired.
Neither the room nor the bathroom have much storage so if you like to unpack and put out your make up, hair products, etc. in the bathroom, you're going to have to improvise.

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a room with direct access to the terrace on the 2nd floor. The extra living space is great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel53705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Tower23 exceeded my expectations. Situated literally right on the Pacific Ocean (with only the boardwalk separating it from the sandy shores!), it has incomparable views. We were there for a special occasion and the staff was so kind and helpful in situating the rooms, accommodating early and late check outs and answering lots of questions (as well as me exploding seltzer water in the car and holding up about 5 cars trying to valet but that's a story for another review)

We got two of the balcony suites facing the ocean. The extra money is well worth it as the view is in a word: extraordinary. The rooms were also new, very clean and bright -- and the bed could give The Westin's "Heavenly" mattress a run for its money!

We got room service and ate on the deck overlooking the ocean a few times. They also have a hoppin bar and restaurant downstairs. The food was awesome Definitely get the fresh mango margarita with chili salt. It's served in a goblet. Swoon! I also loved the LBLT -- lobster, bacon and lettuce. We also thought it was super affordable for a hotel -- I believe room service was only $10/dish.

Finally, upon checking out the receptionist let me know that future visits are always 20% off for returning guests -- forever and no blackouts!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower23 Hotel

Property: Tower23 Hotel
Address: 4551 Ocean Boulevard, Between Felspar St. & Garnet Ave., San Diego, CA 92113-1937
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#40 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower23 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an Endless Summer at TOWER23 Hotel Beachside and Ocean View Accommodations. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen TV and complimentary Wi-Fi, award-winning JRDN Restaurant offering Contemporary Surf + Turf, luxurious sun deck with fire pit and sweeping ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tower23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower23 Hotel San Diego
Tower23 San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing