We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for large groups”
Review of Cafe Coyote

Cafe Coyote
Ranked #85 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Monrovia, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place for large groups”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

the food was great and as well the alcohol beverages,worth the price.Our waitress Noralee was fabulous and handled our large group perfectly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    791
    388
    102
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm hand made tortillas”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We sat on the deck outside watching, smelling and waiting for warm hand made tortillas while sipping margaritas - what could be better. The fish tacos were great despite the fried fish. Great for kids and families and a nice way to end a day in Old Town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“TONS of Vegetarian Options!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I always make a point to visit Cafe Coyote when I visit San Diego. Why?

Well for one, I can order straight off the menu without making substitutions because they have a wide array of options for vegetarians.

Two, The service is fast and great no matter how busy they are.

And Three: The food is tasty and I adore their handmade tortillas.

Parking might be a challenge if they're busy. I guess I have good luck because I'm always able to find a spot just a skip away from the restaurant.

This place is never dead, so call ahead if you have a large party.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience, Great Authentic Food & Spirits”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was told this was a must when is San Diego, and they were spot on! It was so good we ate there several times over the course of 5 days. The outdoor seating is awesome, the food was authentic, tasty, and reasonably priced. The women sit right out on the outdoor patio's making the tortilla's while you dine. The place is huge and accomodate large groups upstairs. It was definately a highlight of our trip. Lot's to walk around after or before dinner in this historic "old town" area. If you are in San Diego, don;t miss this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Coyote Rocks”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food here is fine, but my favorite part is the atmosphere around the bar. The open air area is the best on a warm night. I love Old Town and nothing beats a margarita or a beer and some sports on at the Coyote bar. Parking is a challenge, so be prepared to walk a bit if you eat or drink here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coyote also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Coyote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing