We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Rosecrans Cemetery

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
Book In Advance
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #11 of 423 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

When I'm in San Diego, I visit the cemetery. It's a very quiet and peaceful place overlooking the ocean and downtown San Diego.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    222
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My father is interred at Fort Rosecrans Cemetery, and I lived in Point Loma as a child. This place holds a very special meaning for me. The scenery is truly spectacular. This elegant cemetery is a dignified and serene resting place for our nation's heroes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Patriotism Abounds in Military Cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whether you are going to attend a service, find a particular grave, or just walk around to embrace the atmosphere, this is a nice place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special place for our veterans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We found this cemetery on our road trip of "59 places to see in San Diego". After living my whole life in Southern California I was surprised at how many hidden places I still didn't know about. This was one of them.

My interest in genealogy leads me to places like this to find relatives but the location of this cemetery with it's great views are a great tribute to the heroes that are laid to rest here.

Take the time to drive in and stop and look at some of the grave markers (all the way back to the Spanish American War). It is a very humbling experience to walk among these patriots that gave their lives in service for our freedom.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
361 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I make it a point of visiting the cemetery at least once a year to pay my respects to those who have served our country and assured our freedoms. This is a serene and lovely place, befitting the dignity of those who are buried here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing