We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not Arlington but still a reminder of the cost of our freedom.”

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #10 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
214 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's not Arlington but still a reminder of the cost of our freedom.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

If you've never been to a national cemetery with its rows of white headstones, you need to visit. Each stone aligned with military precision a reminder that our freedom is not free and the men and women who serve are sometimes called to pay the ultimate price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tjshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    229
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Humbling”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

As far as the eye could see, perfect lines of white headstones against the beautiful backdrop of the ocean. An unbelievable sight and an emotional walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank smalltowngalReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
270 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sacred Place!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Military Cemeteries should be on the must see list of everyone who lives in America. We owe so much to so many. This was our first visit to this one. It is sacred and hallowed ground with perhaps the most spectacular view on any we have ever visited. It overlooks both the Pacific Ocean and San Diego and San Diego Harbor. Take time to park and to walk among the grave stones, looking at the names, and reflect on the great sacrifice paid by many for the precious gift of freedom, not only for us, but many throughout the world. We always leave a military cemetery feeling, humble, thankful, grateful, and with a deep sense of reverence. It brightens our day and lifts our step. Yes we are both veterans and are proud to have served with so many who have found their final rest in such places.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank davenmanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“To say goodbye”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful cemetary with cool green grass, lovely aged trees overlooking the ocean. In the distance were naval ships anchored firmly in the bay. This is a most beautiful, soothing place to lay a loved one to rest, as we did my beloved aunt next to her belated husband and love of her life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammylynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wreath Laying Ceremony”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

So every year for the past few years I get a group of volunteers together to do the "Wreaths Across America" wreath laying ceremony @ all the national military cemetaries.
Not only is Ft Rosecrans probably the most beautiful military cemetary besides Arlington, but the amazing view overlooking the bay/ocean is gorgeous.
I'm sure the cemetary any other day is stunning but if you get a chance to attend/participate in the wreath laying ceremony. They have a short cermeony with bag pipes, guest speakers, representatives from all branches and a 21 gun salute to kick off the wreath laying,
Once all the thousands of wreaths are laid, it looks even more beautiful there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JessRich0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing