We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place To Honor”

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #10 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place To Honor”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Awe inspiraed place to stop and pay respects to those who gave thier lives for our freedom. Overlooks both the San Diego Bay and the Pacific Ocean.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    229
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So many tombstones in row after row”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is like our Arlington National Cemetery in Washington DC area, but on the west coast. So many that have served our country well, with a display of their tombstones, white and in row after row, shining in the sun, showing us how much they gave to keep our country free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A serene walk through history”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lived here for years and never ventured beyond the gates. An interesting and calming experience visiting the last resting place of those who served our country from the Spanish American war through today. And what a great view they all have....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Sacred Grounds”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My grandparents are buried here overlooking Mission Bay. Take the time to walk around. So thankful for those that gave their all for our freedom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a beautiful place to be laid to rest. I had never been to a national cemetery before but most of the grave sites overlook the ocean and it's a really pleasant place to see. There are some nice trees for shade and things to read about the cemetery in various locations. Some of the individuals there are recent and some were buried a really long time ago. Very well kept by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Conan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing