We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour tacos”

La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge
Ranked #527 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Market & G Street
Transit: San Diego MTS Trolley: Blue Line, C Street Orange Line, Convention Center
Description: La Fiesta is located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego and within walking distance of the major Downtown hotels.La Fiesta is proud to offer a modern twist on traditional Mexican cuisine.Our new menu is a collaborative effort that was thoughtfully inspired by the talented Chefs Sara Polczynski and Aaron Valenzuela.La Fiesta has a collection of tempting specialty margaritas and over 50 different tequilas offered daily. Come in for our daily happy hour to sample the best the Gaslamp has to offer.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great happy hour tacos”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited this restaurant twice upon recommendation if my hotel. Unfortunately I had other arrangements for dinner so wanted somewhere for an aperitif. Sitting on their patio, i watched the street life and enjoyed huge margaritas for $3 (for the regular ones; top shelf were only $5). I tried their surf and turf tacos for $3 each. They were amazing! Small four tacos were stuffed with tender steak and each had 3 reasonably sized shrimps, and fresh avocado too. For $12 i had two large margaritas and two stuffed tacos - great value! If I return to SD I will make sure I head back to enjoy their full menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    120
    67
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
724 reviews
518 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun, authentic Sonoran cuisine in a lively atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

At La Fiesta, pay attention to the recommendations of the waiters. This restaurant offers many dishes not on the menu that are fantastic. Yes, there is the typical Sonoran tacos, enchiladas and flautas; and, they are very good. However, the chef prepares some unique dishes, such as a seafood combo that is much like a Mexican bouillabaisse. You can't go wrong.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

In Manchester there are not many mexican places so I thought that San Diego would provide me with a nice authentic mexican lunch. I cannot complain about the service. The staff were very polite and the food was delivered promptly. The nachos with the salsa dip were also a nice touch. I ordered the stake burrito and I must say I was disappointed. The whole thing was overpowered by the smell of boiled beef and felt the guacamole was too weak to add any flavour to the dish. It was served with red rice and mashed pinto beans. Both the rice and the beans were excellent and I must say, probably the highlight of the whole meal. With so many places around I would recommend go somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmitsides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We ordered a couple drinks on happy hour and some guac and chips. Everything was wonderful. The service was excellent. Wish we had time to try out the menu but the top shelf margaritas were really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Didn't eat much.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wish that I had been hungry when we went. Just had drinks and appetizers but they were excellent. Next time I'll go ready to have dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing