We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't eat much.”

La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge
Ranked #481 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Market & G Street
Transit: San Diego MTS Trolley: Blue Line, C Street Orange Line, Convention Center
Description: La Fiesta is located in the historic Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego and within walking distance of the major Downtown hotels.La Fiesta is proud to offer a modern twist on traditional Mexican cuisine.Our new menu is a collaborative effort that was thoughtfully inspired by the talented Chefs Sara Polczynski and Aaron Valenzuela.La Fiesta has a collection of tempting specialty margaritas and over 50 different tequilas offered daily. Come in for our daily happy hour to sample the best the Gaslamp has to offer.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Didn't eat much.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wish that I had been hungry when we went. Just had drinks and appetizers but they were excellent. Next time I'll go ready to have dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    120
    67
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice late lunch here, sitting outside. The salsa tasted homemade with a nice smoky chipotle flavor. My husband had the enchiladas with mole', I had a steak burrito, both were very good. Service was average but the food made up for it.

Helpful?
Thank Sandyharris
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in San Diego”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was there on business and the concierge at the Hyatt Manchester recommended La Fiesta as the best Mexican restaurant in downtown. He was correct! From the Salsa to the entree is was all well prepared, interesting and great tasting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Went back a Second Night!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Delicious! We wanted some good Mexican food while in San Diego and we found it here. We came across La Fiesta and sat outside and had a wonderful meal. The margaritas were great! Service was good too. It was close to our hotel and so we just went back a second night, ordered nachos to share between the 2 of us and they were great!
p.s. Stepped into the bar next door afterwards - it was karaoke night, boy was that entertaining!! All fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dhodges519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - a MUST visit!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We are both frequent travelers for work and fun so we have both spent a lot of time overseas eating and drinking. When we holiday with the kids we are pretty fastidious in choosing eating venues. We happened to come across the La Fiesta restaurant on a monitor in our hotel. We decided to take a gamble and give it a try.

At first glance, the restaurant doesn't appear amazing and the menu did not impress. We were both thinking "What have we walked into?!" However, we told the kids to order and we ordered our meals. The beer selection was amazing and great tasting according to hubby. My margherita was HUGE (size of a grapefruit goblet) and made meticulously with excellent flavor. Next came our appetizer special which had an array of nachos with homemade corn chips, quesadillas, baked cheese melt and something like a Mexican chicken spring roll - all delicious and five of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Hubby raved about his pork hock and veggies (shown on website) and rated it the best meal he's had in a while. I ordered lobster and shrimp enchiladas for $19!! I thought "I will have fun playing spot the shrimp and lobster in the enchilada!!" The enchilada arrived STUFFED full of beautiful shrimp and lobster covered in a delicate cheese sauce. I couldn't believe they could do it for this price!!

The service was top notch and water glasses were topped up quickly without asking and the manager was friendly, attentive and chatty. Hubby gave the biggest tip on this trip so you must give it a try :-)

Helpful?
Thank ssw88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to La Fiesta Mexican Cuisine & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing