We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georges On Fifth - CLOSED

Georges On Fifth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our food was fantastic, the service even better! If you are in the area you should definitely try George's!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeaCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice dinner but something missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The restaurant is in an historic building formerly owned by Wyatt Earp. There’s a beautiful antique bar as you enter the restaurant. The murals on the walls of the main dining room honor San Diegans who made significant contributions to the city. However, the overall décor in the dining room seemed tired and unfinished. We were there during prime time and many of the tables were empty. The overall atmosphere was flat and unexciting.

The service was attentive and friendly. We had the filet and NY strip steaks and we were very satisfied. Both steaks were cooked to order, tender and very flavorful. The accompanying side items were also good. The prices were in line with other steak houses in the gas lamp district.

While we enjoyed our meals, there was nothing to make this restaurant stand out. We definitely will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Little ***** in San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The restuarant building once housed Wyatt Earp's bar and *****. The food, standard American fare, is well prepared and presented. Good value and good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our alluringly dressed bartender/waitress told us the fascinating story of the building and about Wyatt Earps involvement. Then brought us great Margaritas before recommending a fantastic meal. Then the Blues band began playing and the evening was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RegularOZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Valentines Day Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Well, here we go again! It is Valentines Day and I am searching for a restaurant for my Honey. I have been wanting to go to Georges for a while now and figured tonight woudl be the night. Well, I must say that I was thoroughly impressed with the location, service, and especially the food. I have read many reviews about this place with some recommendations. I followed most, if not all of them. We started off our night with some crab cakes that were delicious. We followed it up with their seafood bisque (just about every review recommended it). It was fantastic and the portion was definitely a bit generous. For the main course, I had their double sized pork chop. It tasted great with their vinegary sauce and the sweet potato mash was very delicious. My wife had the lobster linguni. She did not care for it too much, but it was a very generous portion and the taste was ok. We finished it all up with their creme brulee. Overall, we were not disappointed at all with Georges. Our waiter, Mike, was very good and his supporting cast were very attentive to all of our needs before we even asked. I would definitely retunr to Georges again!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges On Fifth also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing