We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went 2 nights in a row! Get the filet mignon taco!”

Puesto Mexican Street Food
Reserve with OpenTable
Puesto Mexican Street Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Puesto is a popular San Diego restaurant that successfully mixes a casual attitude with an original twist on Mexican street food and drinks. Puesto knows the true meaning of fresh with hand-made tortillas, scratch salsas, all-natural meats, sustainable seafood and local greens. This incredible combination of the freshest, highest quality ingredients all prepared in house creates the greatest TACOS you've ever tasted! Chef Luisteen serves beautiful market salads, antojitos (Mexican tapas), ceviches, moles, tostadas and other authentic Mexican favorites. Puesto serves up a refreshing craft bar program led by San Diego's champion mixologists Jen Queen, Lucien Conner and Ian Ward. They bring Puesto's dedication to freshness and quality to scratch Margaritas, Palomas, and seasonal Aguas Frescas served pure or as cocktails. ¡SALUD!
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We went 2 nights in a row! Get the filet mignon taco!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fun modern energy and vibe. Great food and our server was fabulous. She remembered us when we came back the 2nd night. The standouts were the fresh guacamole, the filet mignon taco (not to be missed!) and the frozen horchata! If you plan to go for taco Tuesday, plan on waiting for a table! Best eats on our San Diego trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    289
    75
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best Margerita in San Diego!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Actually we asked for the best Margerita in San Diego in tourist information and they recomended us this place.
We're agree! The Margerita is incredible tasty and additional you get somenthing more... ;)
Enjoy!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellisabeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The drink menu is very inventive and extensive from cocktails, wine, beers, and tequilas. The food menu looks limited but it is all worth every bite. The mahi mahi ceviche was really fresh. The atmosphere is really modern and the location is very unique as it is in an old jail. When you get done eating you can actually go see some of the jail cells and pictures of prisoners for free.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lunch - 4 Days in a Row!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

With a weeklong meeting nearby - and lunch not included - I found Puesto next door to the Hyatt on Monday and had a great meal on their soft tacos. After the experience, I proceeded to drag other colleagues here for lunch the next 3 days. So what made me come back? Simple: Service, style, taste, and value.
Service: The place is abuzz with activity. After waiting for table on the first day, I used Opentable to make reservations on successive days. This allowed us to be seated quickly upon arriving. Servers are also quick to arrive at your table, fill you in on the menu choices, and get your order into the bar/kitchen.
Style: Puesto is one of the urban cool and stylish restaurants I can think of. The designers made use of the former industrial SD city jailhouse by amplifying its rough and edgy feel with appropriate lighting, bright graffiti style art and contemporary furnishings. It's a visual delight for anyone appreciative of modern design.
Taste: While there are other choices on the menu, it's really the soft tacos you will gravitate to. They make their own tortillas right near the entrance as you watch. On the menu, there are about 10 different choices, 3 for $11. Over the week, I had every one of them and each was a completely different taste and texture experience.
Value: Over the four days lunch and a beer or wine never was more than $28 with tax and tip.
My colleagues from Eu and Asia simply loved it and enjoyed going back several times. I'll definitely plan to dine again on a future visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“tasty,trendy tacos!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Cool vibes, innovative tacos - and at pick 3 different ones for $11-a bargain to boot!
Great non-alcoholic drinks options too - recommended the lime chia. Located in "The Headquarters" behind the Seaport Village.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank navigator153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puesto Mexican Street Food also viewed

 

Been to Puesto Mexican Street Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing