We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Found Hotel San Diego
Ranked #5 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I needed a place close to the airport since we had an early fight, and decided that Little Italy would be the perfect location. We were able to book a room at Hotel Vivant on short notice, and Erin at the front desk was super accommodating. Each room is unique, so she allowed me to take a look and choose which room I wanted from those available. It is a charming old building, with high ceilings. We chose a queen room with attached bathroom -comfy and graciously appointed - just what we needed. They offered 'happy hour' snacks with craft beer and local wines, which were delicious and a perfect appetizer before our dinner in Little Italy. Loved Little Italy!! Great restaurants, coffee houses, gelatto shops and bistros! Customer service at Hotel Vyvant was excellent. I left my jacket (white hoodie) in the room as we were in a hurry for the airport. I emailed them that day to check to see if they found it. Erin replied that it was being washed (it needed a wash after our travels) and would mail it out to me asap, no charge. Room was very reasonably priced and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnadism0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    173
    53
    22
    12
See reviews for
111
321
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Located in Little Italy, and close to all the shops, restaurants, Farmer's Market, car rental (if needed) and a very short cab ride to Balboa Park, airport, etc. This place is simple, clean, peaceful and the beds and linens are wonderful! Breakfast is good, fruit is always available, and Happy Hour is generous- local brews, wines, cheeses and meats. The front desk took great care of us, calling cabs and allowing for a late departure. Can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I had a great time staying at Hotel Vyvant this past weekend. We arrived long before the official check in time but the lady at the front desk got the staff to ready our room immediately so that we could freshen up before visiting friends. The Rooms are beautiful had a relaxing tub, a comfortable bed, and a filling complimentary breakfast. Offered me a military discount as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you can. But if you get the first floor they provide you with ear plugs for the floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingman342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked a room after reading reviews from others. I must admit that although we had read that the hotel was on a busy street, we were surprised that it is located on the on ramp to interstate 5 . We began to rethink our decision , but as soon as we entered the front door we knew it was a good choice! This is an Adorable hotel. Cute lobby and rooms, clean and remarkably quiet considering its location next to the freeway and under the landing path for the San Diego airport! Within walking distance to little Italy and the Port of San Diego. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

Room Tip: Economy rooms have to share a bathroom! It's worth it to pay the extra for you own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this hotel via Trip Advisor & couldn't be happier. It is a unique, boutique place to stay with great staff only too willing to assist in any way they can. Being from Australia, we were reliant on their assistance. Its location to the harbour, little Italy etc is a plus. Would highly recommend. Special thanks to Kelly-Anne for her patience & assistance.

Room Tip: We shared a bathroom with our friends but had to go outside our room to do so. Might be worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krismenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a great review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel in the heart of Little Italy. We all really enjoy working here, so we hope our guests enjoy staying here too! We hope you had a great rest of your trip.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Vyvant on a recent business trip to San Diego. With its convenient location to Highway 5 and all freeways its a great home base. Little Italy is awesome part of town with great restaurants and shops within walking distance from hotel. Of course the accommodations and service at Hotel Vyvant was top notch! Highly recommend for you next business (or pleasure) trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dback5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We all enjoy working here and hope the guests enjoy staying here too! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Little Italy is a great place to explore. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in town!

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding. In the Little Italy section of San Diego is a very nice boutique hotel. This small hotel feels more like a B&B with very friendly staff who are readily available to give advice on the town and are eager to hear about your trip. Delicious and healthy options for continental breakfast and even offered us a glass of wine upon our arrival. Most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. Some rooms have communal bathroom in the hall, but I never needed to wait for it. Staff keep excellent care of you and the place. Very close to airport, highways, and attractions. Free parking very close by. I will definitely visit again if I'm out in San Diego!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank atwoodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the comfy beds and delicious breakfast. We also enjoy how close we are to so many attractions and it is an easy trip to and from the airport. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#72 of 279 in San Diego
593 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
533 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Found Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Found Hotel San Diego

Property: Found Hotel San Diego
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel Vyvant)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Found Hotel San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found Hotel San Diego is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown Little Italy. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower and Priceline so you can book your Found Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing