We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Found Hotel San Diego
Ranked #5 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Got a last minute reservation at this pace (and paid a fortune b/c of the Comic Con chaos) and was very happy with the decor and service

I wasn't as familiar with San Diego and the neighborhoods, but as it turns our, Little Italy is more interesting and intimate than the Gaslamp district anyway. The room was perfectly fine in terms of cleanliness and modernity, and the easy street parking and self-serve continental breakfast and happy hours selections certainly went a long way towards compensating for the elevated price we paid.

The interaction with the front desk staff was brief but pleasant and accommodating. if it wasn't my first time in San Diego, it would be somewhat tempting to linger in the small lobby and chat up other guests and the front desk staff a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrN22182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for writing a review! We are glad you felt your stay was pleasant and enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. We hope you will come back to visit soon so you can spend more time with us! We love getting to know our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 734 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel while on a mini vacation. We liked the room (T) and we had requested the quietest one when booking. The only thing about the room was the toilet sounded like one from an airplane when flushing - crazy loud. We didn't say anything to the staff about it so there was no complaint logged. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The parking was only problematic one night but that was resolved. The location was great - easy to get to the Trolley Tours stop and the excellent restaurants in Little Italy. If we were to return, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We apologize for the noisy toilet! We will make sure and get that looked at. We are so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we hope to find some parking alternatives soon. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with my boyfriend. The staff and the owner are great, our room was a good size and clean, and the breakfast is a nice touch. The location is also fabulous as you are in walking distance of Balboa Park (and the zoo), the Gaslight District, Little Italy, and the ferry to Coronado. I much prefer a small boutique hotel like this to a larger Hilton or Marriot. A+++

Room Tip: We stayed in room P and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosoxmenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and your room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic price, is close to great restaurants, a Saturday market, downtown sites (if you don't mind a little walking) and has a wonderful staff that is genuinely friendly and goes the extra mile to help guest feel comfortable. If you are looking for a chain hotel that is impersonal and standardized, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a place with character, warmth, and a personal touch, you have found your hotel.

Yes, it is near a highway and the airport. But, we had an interior room and never heard any traffic/planes. And if you live in the city, you know that these noises are common-place and are often a part of life in the center of things. Plus, they provide ear-plugs. I brought my travel ambient noise machine just in case noise was an issue. But, I did not have to use it.

Yes, there is only street parking. But, parking is free on the street and most of the time you can find parking on the same block. The only time we had to park further away was on Saturday evening when a lot of people were in the area enjoying the great restaurants (which are in walking distance for you if you stay in this hotel).

We stayed in an economy room with a shared bathroom. The room was European.... meaning that it was small, but efficient. You should not stay in this room if you are not used to European-sized rooms or if you have a lot of luggage. With one suitcase and two people, room was just fine. The bed was comfortable and it came with a sink :-)

Sharing the bathroom was ok. My only complaint was that the shower was not enclosed (the shower floor is the bathroom floor, with a drain near the toilet). It reminded me of a shower that I once had in a London hotel (only this one was much bigger). It was very necessary to wear shoes to use the toilet (as, I would assume you would do anyway in a shared restroom) because the floor was wet most of the time. And since it was a shared bathroom it was not as clean as a non-shared bathroom would be (as there are others using it who may not be as courteous as you are).

We were there on the weekend and enjoyed the free happy hour. Free beer and wine and great snacks were only part of the enjoyment, as the staff and the owner of the hotel took time to get to know us and to chat with us about our trip and other topics. This type of interaction does not happen typically at chain hotels, and it was very refreshing.

The free breakfast was better than most continental breakfast offerings that I have had: European artisan pastries from a local bakery, granola locally made (and really yummy), Chobani yogurt, juice, milk, and great coffee. We were stuffed after breakfast. As we were leaving on our outings for the day, the staff offered for us to take a cup of granola or pastry with us for a snack later in the day. I thought this was a generous gesture.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to San Diego. But know when you book, you are booking a boutique hotel (not a chain hotel). It has its quirks, but the character and the people make the quirks less noticeable.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We value our guest's feedback and appreciate you kind words and helpful tips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While there are some positives about this boutique hotel (nice continental breakfast, complimentary bottled water, close to Little Italy, friendly staff), there is no excuse for a cold shower when a hotel guest is paying over $100 per night for a hotel room. The front desk had called SDG&E about the cold water issue and did not inform us right away that they could not resolve the problem; instead they called us over an hour after we had let them know of the problem. Then when we were ready to check out, the front desk staff offered to let us have a late check out and shower once the gas company had corrected the problem. At the very least, they could have either offered to let us use another shower in the hotel that had warm water since all the other guests had checked out already or adjusted our bill to reflect the inconvenience. Oh, and the room was noisy the night before. That must be why there were earplugs on the nightstand.

Room Tip: Rooms D and I had cold water in the showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly apologize for the inconvenience of the cold shower during your stay. Once we were aware of the problem we did everything we could to resolve it quickly. We understand there is no excuse for the lack of hot water. The entire hotel had cold water that morning, so unfortunately we did not have the option to allow guests to use the showers in the other rooms. Again, we apologize for the unpleasant morning and we hope you will come back and give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Would have been a nice room if we'd been able to stay in the room we booked. We booked our stay in February for June after we had studied previous reviews and asked what would be a quiet room and was told 'P', so booked 'P' as the reviews had said that some rooms could be very noisy.

When we arrived we had been moved to room 'K' which is at the front of the hotel and right next to a very busy street. The staff thought they were being helpful as the a/c was broken in room 'P' - apparently it had been broken for a few days. It would have been nice if the hotel had let us know of the problem and whether we wanted to move rooms, all we had was an automatically generated reminder e-mail for the booking that stated room 'K', so we didn't look at the detail of the e-mail and missed the change.

Room 'K' also has a door in it to an adjoining room which we don't like.

When we went to bed after midnight, the traffic had calmed down a bit, we were woken at 2.45am by new people checking in to the next room , I think they thought it was 2.45pm by the way they were talking at the top of their voices and this went on for 90 minutes.

We checked out the next day and found another hotel for the last 2 days of our holiday.

If you like sleeping in the middle of the freeway then this hotel has rooms for you. Unfortunately the hotel is on a major intersection to the I5 so there is constant traffic past the side of the hotel which is compounded by set of traffic lights being next to the hotel, causing increased car noise when they accelerate away from the traffic lights.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room as far as possible from the Grape Street. There is plenty of street parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packingbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take our guest's feedback seriously and strive to make improvements to the guest experience. We apologize for the room change and not alerting you to the reason of the room change before your arrival. We were not able to get the A/C replaced before your arrival, but should have let you know of the issue ahead of time. We understand your room was not what you expected and we plan to review ways of avoiding this issue in the future. We hope you will give us another chance in the future so we can make your stay everything it should be.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Best things were the overall ambiance, the very nice and efficient staff and the formidable beds.
Little noicy as I was next to a family with small kids.
Funny thing is that you here nothong of the plains passing quite low over the hotel.
All in all a very nice place were I definitely would come back to but next time I want my own bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and apologize for the noisy family! We look forward to your return.

Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#54 of 286 in San Diego
764 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#113 of 286 in San Diego
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#10 of 286 in San Diego
1,970 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Found Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Found Hotel San Diego

Address: 505 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2206 (Formerly Hotel Vyvant)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $84 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Found Hotel San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found Hotel San Diego is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown Little Italy. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Found Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing