We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Found Hotel San Diego
Nearby Hotels
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$241
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$251
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
$374
$352
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$167
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
446
190
58
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
190
58
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel vyvantshared bathroomlittle italyyogurturban flatbalboa parkboutique hotelbed and breakfaststreet parkingwithin walking distanceclose to the airportsmall hotelnice breakfastqueen bedlight sleeperlocation is greatcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 739 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great boutique hotel/bed and breakfast located close to Little Italy, which is a charming neighborhood with fantastic restaurants and little places to sit and just watch the world go by. We have stayed here a number of years in a row for a major conference that happens in July each summer. The conference center is a 20 minute walk down the hill each morning. The staff are great, and so is the breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Manager at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoy your stay with us every year for the conference. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Bes Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed excellent attention from all the employees, comfortable rooms, and excellent breakfast. The only minor drawback is the noise due to the proximity with the freeway, but I was able to be accommodated in more quiet room (though smaller). Also enjoyed the patio, very nice place to get some work done.

Room Tip: if you don't mind sharing a bathroom, you get an excellent boutique hotel for a very interesting price.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvador O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are happy you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We do apologize for the noise because we are close to a busy street. We hope you will visit again soon and we will find the perfect room for you!

Best Wishes,

Bekah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall a great place for the price!!! Queen bed was comfy, shower/bath was nice but where we gave our kudos was the extra room with a jacuzzi and a huge mirror to get ready with.

Dont have any complaints, couldnt hear traffic, close to exits/entrances, and didnt need our ear plugs.

Just be prepare to park on the street... Which we didnt mind & if you dont mind not having a view than this room is for you.

Room Tip: Request room H
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the room and jacuzzi tub! We hope you will come back soon.

Best Wishes,

Bekah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get a good night's sleep at all here. Our room was noisy and got no light, which ruined the experience for us, despite a few nice touches from the hotel.

The bad: The noise. We could hear the noise from the street (not too loud at night) and got woken up in the morning by stomping overhead. Worst of all, our room shared an interior door with the room next door and we could hear everything. Our neighbors played an audio book all night long the first night, and we could hear the whole thing. When we mentioned it to the staff the next morning, they told us our neighbors were checking out that day. The next night? Same exact audio book, just as loud. We had requested a quiet room when we booked, so we were super-disappointed that our room was so noisy. And when we brought it up, the staff misled us and didn't address the problem at all.

Our first floor room also looked directly at the next-door building, meaning our room had no natural light and no air. It made it unpleasant to spend any time there.

Just OK: The shared bathrooms were fine. They were clean as everyone says, though we didn't have a sink in our room as others have mentioned. Other places I've stayed with shared bathrooms have had multiple bathrooms for multiple rooms. Vyvant just had one bathroom that we shared with another room, which was fine, but if the other people were showering, we couldn't brush our teeth or anything, which was an inconvenience (the front desk let us into another bathroom in this case). Weirdly, the shared bathroom has no towel racks or anything, which meant there was nowhere to put your clothes or hang your towel while showering.

The good: The staff was very nice and helpful (except for the incident with the noise). It's obvious a lot of care has been put into the place and the rooms are nicely decorated. Breakfast was minimal, but good quality stuff (good granola, croissants). It's a nice location, close to the Little Italy restaurants and about a 25-minute walk from downtown.

The bottom line: I wanted to like this place more, but a good night's sleep is one of the most important things for me, and we didn't get that here. And the staff's indifference (resulting in a second night of bad sleep) really ruined it.

Room Tip: Room G is a noisy cave. Stay away!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveler0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

* Staff was super courteous.
* Property was tastefully decorated and clean.
* Breakfast was simple, but certainly better than the standard continental breakfast at chain hotels.
* Many guests were international tourists which made for great conversations!
* The bed was incredibly comfortable - so much so that I'm going to inquire as to what type it was! I forgot to check and want the same one in my home!Parking was somewhat challenging.
* Finding free street parking was a slight challenge, but not impossible.
* The shared bathroom arrangement didn't suit us, but rooms with private bathrooms are plentiful, just more expensive.

Room Tip: I always recommended ear plugs to any traveler no matter where I stay. Hotel Vyvant has beautiful wooden floors and a kind of loud housekeeping staff that make earplugs useful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylorrae05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the property and breakfast! We apologize for the noise from the staff. We will be sure to bring that up at our meeting tomorrow. We hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Best Wishes,

Bekah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews