We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Found Hotel San Diego
Ranked #5 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Torrance, California
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The experience living here is awesome. The staff here is so kind, welcoming and friendly. The breakfast is the typical continental style, simple and delicious. And We are lucky enough to meet their happy hour which served with beers, wines, cookies, fruits, cheese and ham. The room is clean and well designed. Although the hotel is close to airport and I-5, the noise doesn't bother at all. The only thing bother us a little is the noise made by people walking upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear your enjoyed breakfast and our weekly Happy Hour. We apologize for the noise and we will be working on a solution to keep the halls quieter. Thank you again!

Best Wishes,

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    173
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
111
322
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Could not have asked for a friendlier or more helpful staff. Delicious breakfast and happy hour with local beers and wines. Walking distance to the rich variety of restaurants and shops in Little Italy. Very close to the I-5 and flight path of the airport, but the noise did not bother us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the neighborhood. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel Vyvant was the perfect place for us. Three adults stayed in the two bedroom flat and we couldn't have been more pleased. The reception was friendly, the room was more than comfortable both in size and quality of furnishings, everything was immaculate, and the location was ideal. While there is the noise of the city when you step outside the door, the room itself was very quiet. (For those who hear every little sound from outside, earplugs are provided.) All the comforts of home are here in an upscale setting. When I return to San Diego, I most assuredly will be staying at Hotel Vyvant. (In fact, I hesitated writing this review -- I don't want this splendid little hotel to become so popular that there are never rooms available!) Bottom line - you won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: The two bedroom flat is perfect for three people; the bed in the smaller bedroom is against the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for such kind words. We hope we will see you again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was looking for a last minute, overnight stay close to airport at a great value - I got much more for the price! Charming boutique hotel in Little Italy (walking distance to great cuisine); adequate size room with comfortable bedding and towels; extremely welcoming & friendly staff (both night & morning shift); premises appeared well maintained, private and secure. I could hear people walking the halls in the morning given the wooden floors, but that's just part of the charm. But if you're noise sensitive, you may want to use the ear plugs provided in rooms. 5 star rating based on balance of property, service and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristalmSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and location. We understand our wood floors can be noisy at times, but we are happy it wasn't a problem for you. We hope you will visit again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vyvant for three nights in April 2013. Good location, helpful staff. Bit noisy, but clean and comfortable. Shower in shared rooms better than private shower! Good wifi connection. Feels a bit 'style over substance', but pleasant all the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the noise. We do recommend our upstairs rooms that face our courtyard for light sleepers and have recently started including earplugs in the rooms. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Absolutley one of the best small hotels we have stayed in. It really reminded us of the boutique hotels that we stayed at in Europe...definatley has that old world charm to it. The service was wonderful, the breakfast more than satisying, and sitting in the lobby listening to the conversations of people from all over the globe was delightful. In addition to all of that, how many hotel owners do you know that would pay your parking ticket! WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: We were travelling with another couple and did not realize when we reserved the room with two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so glad you enjoy the European charm and travelers here at Hotel Vyvant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This darling boutique hotel is right in the heart of Little Italy and makes for the perfect weekend getaway to San Diego. The rooms are beautifully put together, the bedding is so comfortable after a long day of walking, and the location is ideal for delicious meals or live music on India Street (the main street of Little Italy). A pedicab away from 5th St downtown or the Embarcadero with all of the awesome ships to explore.

We love Public House for brunch, Prep Kitchen for dinner, or of course any of the amazing Italian restaurants for pasta and gelato! Hotel Vyvant offers a complimentary breakfast and iced lemon water and snacks all day long.

Room Tip: One of the twenty something rooms has three queen-sized beds (perfect for our family of six) and mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Found Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to hear our guest's local favorite places too!

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
598 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
2,078 reviews
Old Town Inn
#16 of 279 in San Diego
1,840 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 279 in San Diego
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Found Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Found Hotel San Diego

Property: Found Hotel San Diego
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Hotel Vyvant)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Found Hotel San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found Hotel San Diego is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown Little Italy. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Found Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing