We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Vyvant
Ranked #4 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
1 review
“Amazing Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Every area of the hotel is kept really well. You can tell they thought this through every detail. Location is great, close to everything and a lot of dining options within walking distance. Staff, so hospitable and friendly! Also, very helpful in getting your way around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grooveboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    168
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
108
314
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was our last destination in California after one week driving around. San Diego was simply amazing, fell in love with it, and this hotel really helped us with everyting. It's in the nice little italy area, very fun place to stay and not far from the sea. The rooms are clean,cosy and comfortable, and the service is perfect. It was the perfect way to end our holiday.
Don't hesitate to stay there if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David0ffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

You can feel at ease booking this hotel. Everything in regard to its upkeep and service is fine. Didn't have the breakfast as the area was a bit small and I'm not into early morning chit chat, but that's me. Beds were good, bottles of water supplied. Noise from road/planes was present but not enough to keep me awake. Earplugs are on your bedside table anyway. The area is safe so feel free to roam Little Italy where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabquokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved Hotel Vyvant! It is spotlessly clean, the staff are warm and friendly, and is decorated beautifully. Little Italy is a great area with lots of restaurants and the hotel is within walking distance to the Zoo. We only stayed one night but wanted to stay more. Great value too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel Vyvant was great. I hear it's been re-done recently and I gotta say the interiors were really impressive. It’s located within walking distance of the USS Midway, Balboa Park and
the airport so it’s a great venue to watch the planes come in famously low over the city and isn’t too noisy at all given the proximity to the runway.

We had a room on the first floor, with a shared bathroom, and both our room and the bathroom were really nicely done. The hotel also had some really nice verandas which were light and sunny and a nice place to spend some time.

The staff at the hotel were great; friendly, knowledgeable about the local area and happy to help if required. Becka was great and Lorain was a total sweetheart.

The breakfasts at the hotel were nice although it’s kinda served in lobby, but hey, you get to people watch! There was a good selection of pastries, yoghurt, fruit, fruit juice and teas and
coffee. You could also help yourself to tea /coffee and fruit throughout the day which was a nice
feature.

The area around the hotel is Little Italy was really nice as well with a lot of restaurants and cafes and a lot of choice for lunches and evening meals.

We’d definitely recommend the hotel and San Diego to fellow travellers. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex-m-starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Elegance is the word that comes to my mind when I think of Hotel Vyvant. We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in May 2013 in a room with a shared bathroom and that did not cause a problem in any way. The hotel is elegant, well decorated and clean. They serve a very good continental breakfast, yogurts, fruits, granola cereals, muffins and croissant, coffee, milk and orange juice. The personnel is friendly and very accommodating. It is conveniently located near the restaurants in Little Italy. It is a little noisy early in the morning because of the traffic on the highway nearby, that is if you keep your window open. There is an air conditioned in the room. Overall very good choice at a very reasonable price.

Linda Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Desk at Hotel Vyvant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the decorations! We try to keep it cozy and clean. We agree there are so many restaurants just a couple blocks away to enjoy too! We look forward to your return.

Bekah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We travel extensively and Vyvant has some of the best service quality we've encountered. Bekah is a true treasure. Every request was magically transformed into a reality. Refreshing to be treated with true attention rather than a series of platitudes with no follow through. Well done Vyvant!

Room Tip: If you are really noise sensitive stay away from the exterior facing Grape or State. But we had such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#114 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Property: Hotel Vyvant
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vyvant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing