We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vyvant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vyvant
Ranked #4 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pros:
Great location. Near to little italy and a great farmer's market on saturday.
Friendly and helpful staff. Responsive when there are issues.
Breakfast is fairly minimal but what they do have is very nice.
Comfortable beds and clean.

Cons
Bigger suites feel a bit congested. We stayed in the U suites and with two full beds in one room, it was tight.

Room Tip: If you do not wish to lug your suitcases, request a ground floor room as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    168
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
108
314
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This little Inn is under new ownership and they are doing a great job. Firstly, their location is very convenient to the San Diego airport that we just caught a city bus (#992) right at the terminal, got off two stops later and walked the four blocks to the hotel. Even the walk was pleasant, up Grape Street into Little Italy with it's fabulous restaurants and shops.

The Vyvant is a boutique hotel with small but well appointed rooms. There is no elevator, so if you have issues with stairs, get a lower level room. The bed is great as is the little kitchenette that is suitable for simple meals in-room. Breakfast was a fun affair in the small lobby seated around a dining room table with other guests sampling terrific local bakery goodies, fresh fruit, granola and coffee done by a local coffee roaster that was so good that we hunted down his shop and bought our own beans for the rest of our stay.

The owners were so friendly and helpful with information and advise that we almost felt like family before we left for the rest of our vacation stay.

This little gem is a great value in a super location. We will put it on our "must stay" list for our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zackinspok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

i was celebrating my 1 year anniversary on new years and chose this quaint B&B for our stay. we were greeted by the bubbly and sweet bekah who congratulated us on our anniversary. our room was inviting and comfortable. to our surprise, there were a variety of local beers at happy hour (we love craft beers!) along with wine cheese and crackers. john chatted with us and let us know about the different restaurants and bars in the area. he was very helpful and even made dinner reservations for us. after dinner we walked to beercraft to buy some beers and again we were surprised when the cashier congratulated us on our anniversary. i was speechless. the continental breakfast was great- pastries and coffee were delicious! the vyvant team is warm, friendly and attentive. they go out of their way to make sure their guests feel welcome. at the end of our stay bekah surprised us with a bottle of wine and a sweet note congratulating us again on our anniversary. thei am DEFINATELY returning for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank startrtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just returned from another stay at Hotel Vyvant. It's even better the second time. I was warmly welcomed back by the lovely Kaitlin, and brought to my room. I met John in the morning, and we chatted at breakfast. The happy hour on Saturday night was very nice. I got a chance to meet and talk with the other guests. What I like most about the hotel is that you feel like you're in someone's home; not simply a hotel. This European style B&B is top notch. I like a place where I'm greeted by name every time I leave or arrive. The rooms are quaint, the property is very charming, and the entire staff truly wants you to have a wonderful experience. It's right in LIttle Italy, where there is lots to do and eat! I also went down to tour The USS Midway, which was an awesome experience. Definitely my San Diego destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A charming hotel in charming neighborhood. Nicely decorated room. We chose the room with the soaking tub. Easy walk to many great restaurants and cafes. Neighborhood has a unique blend of modern and traditional architecture, old and young people. Easy access to nearby attractions and the freeway. Street parking was no problem at all, as we found a spot on State St. right in front of the main entrance. Simple breakfast of pastries, fruits, and cereal. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: Choose a second-floor room if possible to reduce noise from neighbors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hemway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Vyvant is the most incredible hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms and service and location are ideal, and on top of all that, the people who work there are the sweetest and kindest and loveliest people, and I am honored to have had the chance to meet them. My ten-day stay was greatly improved by their presence and friendship. This statement means a lot considering we filled every moment of those ten days with memorable adventures - a number of them great recommendations by the wonderful staff. On a side note, as a vegan, I was given great recommendations for restaurants and the hotel offered soy milk - that made a world of difference for me. Don't hesitate booking this hotel, you won't regret your decision!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hotel Vyvant (formly Little Italy Inn) is a great place. The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and the breakfast was great (no hot food but the bakery and juice was good enough for me). In addition, the room is very clean. For the price and the location, it's unbeatable. I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that don't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fattom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#114 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vyvant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vyvant

Property: Hotel Vyvant
Address: 505 West Grape Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Little Italy Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vyvant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vyvant is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown San Diego. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vyvant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing