We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Found Hotel San Diego
Ranked #5 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely hotel in San Diego. Room was small but nicely decorated with everything we needed. Authentic hotel with real character. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and welcoming and provided lots of ideas of great restaurants & things to do. Complimentary wine provided in the evenings was great along with nibbles such as crackers, cheese & olives. Nice opportunity to get to know other guests & staff. Always a fun night! Shared bathroom was great - very clean & never a problem getting in there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelfsy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice hotel (formerly Little Italy Inn) located in the hilly Little Italy neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The only drawback is the considerable noise you get in rooms facing Grape Street (feeding the nearby Interstate 5).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripmaxx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and sister in law stayed at the Inn last year and had a wonderful time mostly due to the incredible hospitality of the staff and the great location of the hotel. This time, my wife and I stayed there in early November. Mitch and Lorraine were wonderful hosts and went way above and beyond and then some to take care of some small issues we had with our room. Ideal place for location, feeling at home, cleanliness, getting your money's worth and incredibly comfortable bedding. Only place I can remember where we slept through the night! Anthony and Linda W

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonywoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When I booked a room at Little Italy Inn, now Hotel Vyvant, there was immediate communication from the hotel. After asking for a room with a balcony, explaining recovery from a broken ankle and hence expecting more in-room time for icing, I was informed that there are no balconies, but they would be happy to upgrade us to an apartment, with fridge for my ice pack, and on the first floor, hence avoiding stairs. We were very impressed with this customer attention.

Yesterday, after informing the hotel that we needed to cancel our trip due to a family emergency, I received a note of sympathy, asking if there was anything they could do.

In my opinion, this is some of the best customer service I have ever experienced. We hope to reschedule a trip to SD at a later date, and this would be my hotel of choice. No wonder the reviews are excellent.

In order to submit this, I did have to give an overall rating, so have done so, based on the service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank piratepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am not sure i can come up with enough superlatives for this hotel. We loved every moment there, the room was beautiful and the staff were lovely. Any neutral reviews are probably from before the management changed. Stop looking for somewhere to stay and get booking, especially if you are there for friday or saturday happy hour....you may just end up making friends that make your trip complete!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our flight got cancelled and we found this hotel on hotel tonight sight. We were upset and tired when we came in. The front desk lady did her best to accommodate us and showed us several rooms. She even gave us an extra room free of charge because the room she promised us was taken. The hotel is clean, close to all nice restaurants. In the morning the breakfast was outstanding, fresh coffee, orange juice, pastries. We felt like we were visiting relatives. We needed a place to work for a couple of hours and occupied the whole lobby which looks like a living room. They gave us a late check-out also. We were very happy.

Room Tip: The back rooms are less noisy. Some rooms have bathroom, some share. There is a big communical bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridaprincess65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very happy with our stay in this little boutique hotel. When we entered the hotel guests were gathered and enjoying wine with cheese and crackers. I knew then that we had found the perfect place to stay. Mitch is the perfect host and most accommodating. Our room was large and the bed was a "heavenly" bed. In the morning we woke up to wonderful coffee, pastries and yogurt. Was kinda sad to say goodbye - but we will be back!!

Room Tip: They have rooms where you share a bathroom and others with your own bathroom - even some have kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,354 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 286 in San Diego
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Found Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Found Hotel San Diego

Address: 505 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2206 (Formerly Hotel Vyvant)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $68 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Found Hotel San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found Hotel San Diego is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in downtown Little Italy. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine hospitality and an authentic San Diego experience. We are located in the hip and vibrant neighborhood of Little Italy where you will find some of the local’s favorite restaurants, bars and shops; and within minutes of the San Diego Airport, Convention Center, the World-Famous San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Found Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Italy Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing