We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fishery

The Fishery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fishery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Opal
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I get to Pacific Beach every month or two, and I have eaten here several times. It is the only restaurant in Pacific Beach I recommend to friends. The fish is always fresh and well-prepared. Portions are generous also. I can't usually finish everything if I order an appetizer and and entree, but it all is so good it is hard to not over-order. I will often just order 2 appetizers instead. The wine list, while not extensive, is reasonably priced,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    95
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Really Good - OK - Depends what you order”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice looking place. Seafood is on display in refrigerated cases. Nice touch. Several in our party had the Halibut and raved about it. Two had Luigini and clam sauce and liked that, too. I had their Shrimp Scampi which had almost no taste. The only taste it did have was far too much lemon - It was devoid of garlic which is the basis of any good scampi.

Service was very good. A pet peeve you may or may not agree with me on. It was a 70th B-Day and one of our party brought a bottle of champagne. We asked if we could bring it and they said sure..Give us $15 for a cork fee. When you have a party of 7, that is totally unnecessary IMHO.
We passed on their offer.

Personally, I think Bonefish puts out a better product at a more reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILUVFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The seafood is so fresh that they have a fresh fish market in front of the restaurant. My wife had a salmon along with spinach, which she said was excellent. I had swordfish with broccolini which was the best I have ever had. In was very moist and perfectly cooked. The wait staff is very friendly,helpful, and attentive to your needs. The room is not to large however it has a nice vibe. I would honestly go back when in the area again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a seafood meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My friends and I visited for lunch. The appetizer of fried calamari was scrumptious. My cousin found his clam chowder delicious. All of us were very pleased with our different entrees and sandwiches. I chose the seared ahi tostadas-the ahi was perfectly prepared. The only problem we had was the size of the portions-we had to take food home! (not a real problem!) Friendly and understanding staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feeardeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome fish, very fine dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife & I had a fantastic dinner. The fish was just excellent, no surprise. The side dishes were also excellent, veggies not overcooked or drowned in sauce. Our waiter & other staff were attentive, but not overly so. We'll be back next time we visit San Diego!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishery also viewed

 

Been to The Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing